BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 21:22 GMT, Sunday, 12 July 2009 22:22 UK

Atraco stun Merreikh in Cecafa final

Cecafa logo
Hamisi Gitagenda's lone strike gave Atraco victory over Merreikh

Atraco of Rwanda are the surprise winners of this year's Cecafa Club Championship.

They beat the Sudanese favourites El Merreikh 1-0 to take the trophy.

Atraco scored after just 15 minutes through the tournament's top scorer Hamisi Gitagenda.

It is a spectacular result for Atraco who have only been in existence for three years.

Atraco take home prize money worth US$ 50,000 for their efforts.

The runners-up El Merreikh earned US$ 30,000 plus the fair play trophy.

DR Congo's TP Mazembe beat Mathare United of Kenya 2-0 in the third-place play-off.

Mukulukutu Miala and Kaliyutuka Dioko were the scorers for the Congolese club.

Print Sponsor

see also
Atraco through to Cecafa final
11 Jul 09 |  African
Atraco, Mathare into Cecafa semis
09 Jul 09 |  African
El Merreikh top Group A in Cecafa
05 Jul 09 |  African
Merreikh kick-off Cecafa in style
01 Jul 09 |  African

related bbc links:


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.