Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 29 August 2006, 10:54 GMT 11:54 UK
Lulu is elected Nigeria FA boss
By Oluwashina Okeleji
BBC Sport, Abuja

Nigeria FA boss Sani Lulu
Lulu said he will spearhead needed reforms

Sani Lulu has been elected as the new chairman of the Nigeria Football Association.

Lulu won Tuesday's poll in the Nigerian capital Abuja by getting 75 votes out of a possible 97.

Lumumba Adeh placed second with 16 votes, former Nigeria captain Segun Odegbami came third with six votes, with Emmanuel Omokhomion getting none.

"For over a decade now, I've been striving to take Nigerian football out of the doldrums and I am happy that my dream has come true," Lulu told BBC Sport.

"The top priority on my agenda is to unite the football family and return Nigerian football to the good light and frame it truly deserves.

"I promised a lot during the campaign, I am challenged by a lot of factors and I insist that with the right people, together we can take Nigerian football to the dream land.

Five candidates were scheduled to contest the NFA chairmanship but Ray Nnaji withdrew Monday night.

Fifa's general secretary Urs Linsi, who was in Abuja to monitor the elections, said he was delighted that the Nigeria FA's leadership crisis has come to an end.

"We are all happy that everyone has sheathed their swords to elect a new leadership and direction for Nigerian football," he said.

"Today is important in Nigerian football and Fifa is happy with this, as all warring factions have come together as one."

Amanze Uchegbulam was unanimously elected as the first vice-chairman while Jackson Oyuiki Obaseki is the second vice-chairman, as a result of being the head of the Nigeria Football league.

Other members of the NFA board are Peter Singabele, Patrick Ekong, Joseph Ogba,Taiwo Odebunmi, Bola Jegede, Dominic Iorfa, Stephen Gyegbon, Aminu Maigari, Alili Galadima and Abubakar Ladan.

Former NFA secretary-general Taiwo Ogunjobi, now the head of a state FA, will represent his colleagues on the board.

The tenure of the new NFA board will expire in 2010.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us