Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 14 May 2006, 16:50 GMT 17:50 UK
Caf names 2010 shortlist
The Caf logo
Caf has named a shortlist for the hosts of the 2010 Nations Cup
The Confederation of African Football (Caf) has named Libya, Angola, Nigeria and a joint bid from Gabon and Equatorial Guinea on its shortlist to host the 2010 Nations Cup.

Caf heard a total of eight bids at its headquarters in Egypt on Sunday and eventually rejected those from Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Senegal.

Both Libya and Nigeria have hosted the African Cup of Nations in the past, while it would be a first for Angola as well as Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.

Inspectors from Caf will now visit all four of the shortlisted nations in between July and August this year.

The inspecors will provide a detailed report on each country on such things as stadiums, security, transport and communications.

The eventual hosts for the 2010 Nations Cup will made by the Caf executive committee at its meeting in September 2006

Meanwhile Caf has also announced that Nigeria will be hosting this year's African Women's Championship after the earlier withdrawal of Gabon.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport