BBC Sport
Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help

Last Updated: Saturday, 2 July, 2005, 17:32 GMT 18:32 UK
Nigeria 1-2 Argentina
The Flying Eagles fail in their quest to become the first African nation to win the World Youth Championship.

Full time: Nigeria 1-2 Argentina

1950: The full time whistle goes and Argentina are the 2005 World Youth champions. Nigerian players sink to their knees and most of them are in tears; Nigerian officials are doing their best to console the distraught youngsters. The Argentines, meanwhile, are celebrating their fiftth crown in this competition.

1947: Argentina get a corner, much to the angst of the Nigerian coach Siasia, who would rather have play on the other end of the pitch!

1945: The fourth official signals four minutes stoppage time to be played, Argentina's Aguero is cautioned for time-wasting.

1942: Nigeria make a change - Solomon Okoronkwo comes in for Abwo but time is running out for the Flying Eagles. The South Americans are close to winning their fifth World Youth title.

1937: Tremendous save from Nigerian goalkeeper Vanzekin as he thwarts the dangerous Aguero. Gabriel Paletta is shown a yellow card for dangerous play.

1934: Nigeria left-back Taye Taiwo is yellow-carded for turning his attention away from the ball and onto Messi. desperation beginning to creep into the Nigerian game.

1931: GOAL! Nigeria 1-2 Argentina Messi puts Argentina in front - again from the penalty spot - following a foul on Aguero. The Nigerians are furious with the referee for giving the penalty as they feel Aguero was not fouled at all.

1930: Argentina make their last change of the match - Lucas Biglia replaces the ineffective Fernando Gago.

1927: David Abwo is brought down outside the box but Obi again wastes his free kick. The Nigerians have wasted many set-pieces tonight and coach Siasia is not too happy with that, judging by his reaction on the touchline.

1923: Owoeri is fouled just outside the box but Obi's free-kick is easily dealt with by the Argentine defence. Ogbuke's goal seems to have given the Nigerians renewed confidence and they are forcing Argentina onto the back foot.

1919: Another Argentine change as Emiliano Armenteros comes in for Rodrigo Archubi. Meanwhile, on the touchline, Nigeria coach Siasia continues to bark orders to his troops.

1915: First substitution of the match comes from Argentina. Sergio Aguero replaces Oberman.

1911: GOAL! Nigeria 1-1 Argentina The Flying Eagles are back in the game, courtsey of a flying header from Ogbuke, who did justice to a fine cross from the right flank by Olubayo Adefemi. Game on!

1908: Messi endangers the Nigerian goal again but his shot is blocked and Nigeria concede a corner kick. If Nigeria fail to find a way of dealing with Messi, their mission could be undermined.

1902: Second half gets underway in Utrecht.

Half-time: Nigeria 0-1 Argentina

1849: The Norwegian referee blows to end the first 45 minutes with Argentina in the driving seat. It has been a first half in which the Flying Eagles promised a great deal but delivered nothing. For their part, the Argentines did no more than wait for the oppsition to make mistakes.

1845: The fourth official signals four minutes of stoppage time to be played.

1840: So the Nigerians find themselves behind as half-time approaches but they are not out of this game yet. The fans seem to have rediscovered their voice following the Argentine goal.

1839: GOAL! Nigeria 0-1 Argentina The dangerous playmaker Messi scores from the penalty spot after being brought down inside the area by Dele Abeleye. Siasia warned his players of the need to be aware of the threat posed by the Barcelona man as he has been driving Argentina in this tournament.

1835: This game is struggling to catch fire as both teams play with a lot of caution. They seem to be playing not to lose as opposed to playing to win the match!

1834: A powerful shot from Owoeri is parried away for a corner by the Argentine goalkeeper but, not for the first time, Obi fails to deliver a proper corner into the box.

1830: Another yellow card, this time to Nigeria's Sani Kaita, for a foul on Oberman. Garay blasts the resultant free kick over the bar.

1825: Argentina break out of their defensive shell and attack. Gustavo Oberman is fouled outside the area by goalkeeper Ambruse Vanzekin but the free kick goes wide. The fans, most of whom are backing Argetina, are rather subdued except for a handful of drum-beating Nigerians.

1823: Another free kick is awarded to Nigeria but Obi shoots over the bar. The Argentines are clearly struggling to cope with the artistry and industry of Obi in the middle of the park.

1818: Obi is brought down by Fernando Gago as he bears down on the Argentine goal. Obi is beginning to dictate the tempo of the match from midfield.

1815: Another Nigerian corner goes begging as Chinedu Ogbuke' effort is wide off the mark. Coach Samson Siasia is looking quite animated as he bellows instructions from the touchline.

1813: Nigeria's Monday James is yellow-carded for a foul on Pablo Zabaleta.

1812: John Mikel Obi takes Nigeria's first corner kik of the match but fails to deliver as the ball goes wide.

1811: The Flying Eagles seem to have taken the initiative early on with some deft movement in the opposition's half.

1807: John Owoeri is brought down by Lionel Messi and Nigeria win a free kick just outside the area, but it is poorly taken and the South Americans are relieved.

1803: First corner to Argentina after a dangerous run by Ezequiel Garay into the Nigerian penalty area. Corner easily dealt with by the Nigeria defence.

1800: Argentina kick off to get the 2005 World Youth Championship final underway.

1758: The national anthems have been sung.

1752: The teams line up either side of the half-way line for the Fifa song to be followed by national anthems.

1743: A focused-looking Nigeria captain Promise Isaac leads his players out onto the Galgenwaard Stadium pitch. The team receive a warm reception, helped by the numerous Nigerian followers in the ground.

1730 GMT: The players come out on the pitch for their pre-match routines, a bit of running and stretching exercises. The weather is warm but the pitch is wet.

Fans lucky enough to get tickets for the big match take to their seats. The Galgenwaard Stadium in Utrecht has a capacity of 25,000 and the match is a sell-out.

Nigeria: Ambruse Vanzekin, Taye Taiwo, Monday James, Chinedu Ogbuke, John Mikel Obi, Promise Isaac, Olubayo Adefemi, David Abwo, Dele Adeleye, Sani Kaita, John Owoeri

Argentina: Oscar Ustari, Lautaro Formical, Julio Barroso, Juan Manuel Torres, Gabriel Paletta, Pablo Zabaleta, Ezequiel Garay, Rodrigo Archubi, Fernando Gago, Lionel Messi, Gustavo Oberman

Referee: Terjer Auge (Norway)

Nigeria out to be world beaters
02 Jul 05 |  African
Nigeria reach WYC final
28 Jun 05 |  African
Siasia's global challenge
30 Jun 05 |  African


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport