Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepage feedback | low graphics version
BBC Sport Online
You are in: Football  
Front Page 
Eng Prem 
FA Cup 
World Cup 2002 
Champions League 
Uefa Cup 
Worthington Cup 
Eng Div 1 
Eng Div 2 
Eng Div 3 
Eng Conf 
Scot Prem 
Scottish Cup 
CIS Ins Cup 
Scot Div 1 
Scot Div 2 
Scot Div 3 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Tuesday, 20 February, 2001, 18:18 GMT
Mboma wins top BBC award
Patrick Mboma
Mboma (centre) is our ninth African star of the year
BBC African Service listeners have voted Cameroon's Italy-based striker Patrick Mboma as the African Sports Personality of the Year 2000.

The 30-year-old Parma striker got the largest number of the listeners' votes ahead of Ethiopian long distance runner Haile Gebreselassie and Mozambique Olympic gold medallist Maria Mutola from Mozambique.

Patrick Mboma
Mboma helped Cameroon win the Olympic gold and the Cup of Nations
Mboma captained Cameroon to win the gold medal at the Sydney Olympics Games after the Indomitable Lions triumphed in the African Cup of Nations in a dramatic shoot-out against Nigeria.

The BBC award comes soon after Mboma was also voted the 2000 African Player of the Year by the Confederation of African Football.

  Previous BBC African Sport Stars
1992: Abedi Pele
1993: Frank Fredericks
1994: Zambian team
1995: George Weah
1996: E Ammunike
1997: Nwankwo Kanu
1998: Haile Gebreselassie
1999: Nwankwo Kanu

Second in the competition is Ethiopia's Haile Gebreselassie, who won this award in 1998 and is always a big favourite.

Gebreselassie retained his 10,000 metre Olympic title in Sydney.

In third place was the "Maputo Express" Maria Mutola, who won the 1500 metres Olympic Gold in Sydney.

It was Mozambique's first ever Olympic gold medal.

Abedi Pele
Ghana's Abedi Pele won our first award in 1992
The BBC African Sports Star medal is to be presented to Patrick Mboma at his Italian base in Parma.

Previous winners of the award, which was created by popular request in 1992, include Abedi Pele of Ghana, Frankie Fredericks of Namibia, the Zambian national football team, George Weah of Liberia, Nwankwo Kanu of Nigeria, and Haile Gebreselassie of Ethiopia.

Search BBC Sport Online
Advanced search options
See also:

02 Feb 01 |  Football
Africa's very best
04 Feb 01 |  Football
Africa's best footballer
03 Jan 01 |  Africa
Lions named team of the century
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to top Football stories are at the foot of the page.

Links to other Football stories

^^ Back to top