BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 08:57 GMT, Friday, 30 October 2009

England quartet up for Fifa award

2008 winner Cristiano Ronaldo
Ronaldo is in the running to win the award for a second successive year

England stars John Terry, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard and Wayne Rooney have all been shortlisted for the Fifa World Player of the Year award.

The quartet are among 23 players in the running to win the prize, with the winner revealed on 21 December.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi is the strong favourite ahead of last year's winner Cristiano Ronaldo, now at Real Madrid.

There are also 10 nominees for the Fifa Women's World Player, including England striker Kelly Smith.

Six Spaniards have been shortlisted for the men's award and six from Champions League winners Barcelona, including midfield duo Xavi and Andres Iniesta as well as Messi.


Liverpool's Fernando Torres is in the running, as are Chelsea trio Michael Ballack, Didier Drogba and Michael Essien.

The prizes are voted for by the captains and head coaches of the men's and women's national teams and at the beginning of December Fifa will announce the names of the five men and five women who have received the most votes.

The winners will then be revealed at the 19th Fifa World Player Gala at the Zurich Kongresshaus on Monday 21 December.

Nominees for 2009 Fifa World Player of the Year award:

Michael Ballack (Germany), Chelsea
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Juventus
Iker Casillas (Spain), Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Real Madrid
Diego (Brazil), Juventus
Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Chelsea
Michael Essien (Ghana), Chelsea
Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon), Inter Milan
Steven Gerrard (England), Liverpool
Thierry Henry (France), Barcelona
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Barcelona
Andres Iniesta (Spain), Barcelona
Kaka (Brazil), Real Madrid
Frank Lampard (England), Chelsea
Luis Fabiano (Brazil), Sevilla
Lionel Messi (Argentina), Barcelona
Carles Puyol (Spain), Barcelona
Franck Ribery (France), Bayern Munich
Wayne Rooney (England), Manchester United
John Terry (England), Chelsea
Fernando Torres (Spain), Liverpool
David Villa (Spain), Valencia
Xavi (Spain), Barcelona

Nominees for 2009 Fifa Women's World Player of the Year:

Nadine Angerer (Germany)
Sonia Bompastor (France)
Cristiane (Brazil)
Inka Grings (Germany)
Mana Iwabuchi (Japan)
Simone Laudehr (Germany)
Marta (Brazil)
Birgit Prinz (Germany)
Kelly Smith (England)
Abby Wambach (USA)

Print Sponsor

see also
Giggs in running for Euro award
18 Oct 09 |  Europe
Ronaldo named Fifa player of 2008
12 Jan 09 |  Football
Kaka wins Fifa world player crown
17 Dec 07 |  Football

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.