BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 13:13 GMT, Monday, 1 December 2008

The 2000s Ballon d'Or winners
Clockwise, from top left: Luis Figo; Ronaldinho; Andriy Shevchenko; Fabio Cannavaro; Pavel Nedved

A different player has won the Ballon d'Or every year this decade, starting with Portugal's wing wizard Luis Figo (top left) in 2000, before the great Ronaldo (2002) overcame injury to seal his second.

Czech Republic midfielder Pavel Nedved (bottom left) won it in 2003 for Juventus and then AC Milan's Ukraine striker Andriy Shevchenko (top right) succeeded him.

In 2005, Brazilian Ronaldinho's scintillating skills made him the darling of the voting panel and took the title back to Barcelona.

A year later, after Italy's World Cup win, Fabio Cannavaro's victory (bottom right) made him the toast of defenders worldwide.

see also
England trio on Euro award list
19 Oct 08 |  Europe

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.