BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:49 GMT, Monday, 1 December 2008

The 1990s Ballon d'Or winners
Left to right: Lother Matthaus; George Weah; Ronaldo (top); Rivaldo; Zinedine Zidane

Lothar Matthaus' (left) stand-out displays for West Germany at the 1990 World Cup earned him the first award of the decade, before Marco van Basten (1992) completed a hat-trick of titles.

In 1995 there was a rule change to allow non-European players to win if they played for a European club. Liberian striker George Weah (second left) took advantage that year after goals galore for AC Milan.

Ronaldo (top middle) became the first Brazilian to win the award in 1997 and his compatriot Rivaldo followed him in 1999.

In between, France's Zinedine Zidane lifted the 1998 prize after his superb World Cup.

see also
England trio on Euro award list
19 Oct 08 |  Europe

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.