BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:24 GMT, Monday, 1 December 2008

Ronaldo joins legendary list
Clockwise from top left: Ballon D'Or winners Alfredo di Stefano, Michel Platini, Ronaldo and Marco van Basten

Considered more prestigious than the Fifa equivalent, the award was the brainchild of France Football magazine's chief writer Gabriel Hanot.

He asked colleagues from across Europe to vote for their player of the year in 1956, and the Golden Ball was born.

Ronaldo joins a list that includes Argentina-born Spanish striker Alfredo di Stefano, who won two of the first four titles.

French playmaker Michel Platini won three successive crowns in the mid 1980s, while Dutch master Marco van Basten also notched three wins, while Ronaldo became the first Brazilian winner.

see also
England trio on Euro award list
19 Oct 08 |  Europe

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.