BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 21:49 GMT, Tuesday, 2 September 2008 22:49 UK

Aldershot 2-2 Swindon

Swindon win 7-6 on penalties

Mark Marshall scored the winning spot-kick as Swindon beat Aldershot 7-6 in a tense penalty shoot-out.

During normal time Swindon went ahead thanks to Simon Cox's close-range effort, before Rob Elvins equalised just before half-time for the visitors.

Soon after the restart Scott Davies' penalty put Aldershot ahead after Jerel Ifil was brought down by Danny Hylton.

But Ifil smashed in the equaliser and when Junior Osbourne missed the 12th penalty, Marshall held his nerve.

Aldershot: Bull, Soares, Blackburn, Newman, Charles, Davies (Hudson 87), Chalmers, Donnelly, Hylton (Morgan 81), Elvins (Grant 90), Osborne.
Subs Not Used: Jaimez-Ruiz, Harding.

Booked: Newman, Blackburn.

Goals: Elvins 45, Davies 48 pen.

Swindon: Phil Smith, Amankwaah, Ifil, Kanyuka, Jack Smith, McGovern (Marshall 59), Easton, Timlin (Allen 59), McNamee (Paynter 82), Cox, Peacock.
Subs Not Used: Brezovan, Casal.

Booked: Timlin.

Goals: Cox 32, Ifil 83.

Att: 1,814

Ref: J Linington (Hampshire).

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.