BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 22:31 GMT, Sunday, 27 April 2008 23:31 UK

Ronaldo named player of the year


Ronaldo hopes he can keep on improving

Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo has been named as the Professional Footballers' Association player of the year.

The 23-year-old wins the award for the second successive season after another outstanding campaign that has seen him score 38 goals in all competitions.

"I feel very happy. It is a great moment, it is an honour, a pleasure," said the Portuguese star.

Arsenal midfielder Cesc Fabregas picked up the young player of the year award.

Fabregas accepts the young player award

Ronaldo beat off competition from Liverpool duo Fernando Torres and Steven Gerrard, 20-year-old Fabregas and Gunners team-mate Emmanuel Adebayor and Portsmouth goalkeeper David James.

The Portugal international was also in the running to scoop the young player of the year award, a feat he achieved last year, but was pipped to the prize by Spain star Fabregas.

Torres, Micah Richards, Gabriel Agbonlahor and Ashley Young were the other nominees.

Ronaldo did not attend the event, as he is busy preparing for Man Utd's Champions League semi-final second leg clash with Barcelona on Tuesday night, but was presented with the award by United manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

I feel very good but it is not just my award, my team-mates have helped me a lot this season

Cristiano Ronaldo

"When you work all season to play good, to do something for the team, and then at the end of the season the PFA give you this award, it is a great motivation to carry on like that, to work more and get better," said Ronaldo.

"I feel very good but it is not just my award, my team-mates have helped me a lot this season.

"They give me good passes to score goals - and I score - but it is a good moment for me."

Ronaldo revealed he voted for Arsenal striker Adebayor, but believes the right man walked away with the award.

Sir Rooney

"I voted for Adebayor because I think he has had a great season as well," he said.

"But you have many players who have had a good season - Torres, Fabregas, many players. But I think I deserve to win!"

Of his award, Fabregas said: "I'm very proud. It's a very prestigious trophy.

"Football is a collective game and you prefer to win trophies with team-mates but it's always nice to have this type of award.

"I dedicate it to my team-mates because without them I would not have won."

BBC broadcaster and former England and Blackpool full-back Jimmy Armfield received the merit award for his services to the game.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year:
David James (Portsmouth), Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd), Nemanja Vidic (Man Utd), Gael Clichy (Arsenal), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal), Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd), Ashley Young (Aston Villa), Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal), Fernando Torres (Liverpool).

PFA Championship Team of the Year:
Wayne Hennessy (Wolves), Bradley Orr (Bristol City), Ryan Shawcross (Stoke), Dan Shittu (Watford), Paul Robinson (West Brom), Brian Howard (Barnsley), Marvin Elliott (Bristol City), Liam Lawrence (Stoke), Jonathan Greening (West Brom), Ricardo Fuller (Stoke), Kevin Phillips (West Brom).

PFA League One Team of the Year:
Kieren Westwood (Carlisle), Angel Rangel (Swansea), Garry Monk (Swansea), Danny Livesey (Carlisle), Julian Bennett (Nottm Forest), Andy Robinson (Swansea), Ferrie Bodde (Swansea), Kris Commons (Nottm Forest), Richie Wellens (Doncaster), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds), Jason Scotland (Swansea).

PFA League Two Team of the Year:
Jon Lewis (Peterborough), Craig Pead (Brentford), Stephen Foster (Darlington), Danny Swailes (MK Dons), Dean Lewington (MK Dons), Jason Puncheon (Barnet), Keith Andrews (MK Dons), Lloyd Dyer (MK Dons), George Boyd, (Peterborough), Jack Lester (Chesterfield), Aaron McLean (Peterborough).

see also
Ronaldo's season in photos
28 Apr 08 |  Football
Ronaldo tops PFA nominations list
11 Apr 08 |  Premier League
Coping with Cristiano Ronaldo
31 Mar 08 |  Football
Redknapp hails 'special' Ronaldo
30 Jan 08 |  Portsmouth
Kaka wins Fifa world player crown
17 Dec 07 |  Football
Ronaldo takes award from writers
04 May 07 |  Premier League
Ronaldo secures PFA awards double
22 Apr 07 |  Football

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites