Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 22 April 2007, 20:38 GMT 21:38 UK
Ronaldo secures PFA awards double
Cristiano Ronaldo with his two awards
Ronaldo has had a season to remember so far
Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year by the Professional Footballers' Association.

The 22-year-old winger is the first player to win both awards in the same season since Andy Gray in 1977.

The Portuguese star has recovered from last year's World Cup controversy to help United battle for three trophies.

Chelsea striker Didier Drogba was second and Manchester United midfielder Paul Scholes third in the senior award.

Manchester United veteran Ryan Giggs, last year's winner Steven Gerrard of Liverpool and 19-year-old Arsenal midfielder Cesc Fabregas also made ths shortlist.


Ronaldo was booed at the start of the season for his part in Wayne Rooney's sending off in the World Cup quarter-final match between England and Portugal in Germany.

But he has bounced back superbly and has so far scored 16 Premiership goals this season to fire United to the top of the table.

The winger said it was a big honour to be singled out by his peers.

He said: "It is a special night. It is amazing and a big honour for me to win trophies like this in the English Premier League. I am very proud.

I think he is the best player in the world and his season has been incredible

Sir Alex Ferguson

"My colleagues have voted for me and that is fantastic because the players know the qualities of players.

"I want to keep working hard and getting better because these trophies have now given me more motivation.

"This great team has helped me because when the team wins it is easier for us all to play with more confidence."

Fabregas was second and Tottenham's Aaron Lennon, 20, third in the voting for the young player award.

Ronaldo's team-mate Wayne Rooney (21) was also shortlisted, as were Reading striker Kevin Doyle, 23, and 18-year-old defender Micah Richards of Manchester City.

Eight Manchester United players made it into the team of the year while manager Sir Alex Ferguson was honoured with the PFA Special Merit Award.

Ferguson paid tribute to Ronaldo, who joined United from Sporting Lisbon in a 12.2m deal in August 2003.

"At this moment in time, I think he is the best player in the world and his season has been incredible," he said.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year:
Edwin van der Sar, Gary Neville, Nemanja Vidic, Rio Ferdinand, Patrice Evra (all Man Utd); Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, Cristiano Ronaldo (all Man Utd) and Steven Gerrard (Liverpool); Didier Drogba (Chelsea) and Dimitar Berbatov (Tottenham)

PFA Championship Team of the Year:
Matt Murray (Wolves), Graham Alexander (Preston), Gareth Bale (Southampton), Darren Moore (Derby), Curtis Davies (West Brom), Jason Koumas (West Brom), Carlos Edwards (Sunderland), Dean Whitehead (Sunderland), Diomansy Kamara (West Brom), Michael Chopra (Cardiff), Gary McSheffrey (Birmingham)

PFA League One Team of the Year:
Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe), Jon Otsemobor (Crewe), Matt Lockwood (Leyton Orient), Terry Skiverton (Yeovil), Ian Breckin (Nottingham Forest), Wesley Hoolahan (Blackpool), Richard Wellens (Oldham), Matt Jarvis (Gillingham), Chris Shuker (Tranmere), Luke Varney (Crewe), Billy Sharp (Scunthorpe)

PFA League Two Team of the Year:
Clayton Ince (Walsall), Craig Pead (Walsall), Michael Nelson (Hartlepool), Chris Westwood (Walsall), Ritchie Humphreys (Hartlepool), Lee Frecklington (Lincoln), Dean Keates (Walsall), Andrew Monkhouse (Hartlepool), Tommy Doherty (Wycombe - on loan from QPR), Izale McLeod (MK Dons), Jermaine Easter (Wycombe)

Ronaldo best in world, says Terry
16 Apr 07 |  Football
Ronaldo beats Mourinho to award
31 Dec 06 |  Europe
Gerrard dubs Ronaldo a 'disgrace'
12 Aug 06 |  Internationals


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us