Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 23 April 2006, 22:42 GMT 23:42 UK
Gerrard named player of the year
Steven Gerrard holds aloft his PFA award
It is the first time Gerrard has won the prestigous award
Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard has claimed the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year award.

It is the first time the 25-year-old has been named player of the year by his peers, although he was Young Player of the Year in 2001.

Gerrard, who a day earlier helped Liverpool win their FA Cup semi-final, said: "I am still in shock.

"To go through to another FA Cup final and win this special award in the same weekend is fantastic for me."

Wayne Rooney, the 20-year-old Manchester United striker, won the PFA Young Player of the Year award for the second successive season.

1996: Les Ferdinand (Newcastle)
1997: Alan Shearer (Newcastle)
1998: Dennis Bergkamp (Arsenal)
1999: David Ginola (Tottenham)
2000: Roy Keane (Man Utd)
2001: Teddy Sheringham (Man Utd)
2002: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Man Utd)
2003: Thierry Henry (Arsenal)
2004: Thierry Henry (Arsenal)
2005: John Terry (Chelsea)
2006: Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

Rooney had been a contender for the senior player of the year prize - along with Gerrard, Arsenal striker Thierry Henry and the Chelsea trio Joe Cole, Frank Lampard and John Terry, who won last year.

Gerrard was third in last season's vote but then went on to guide the Reds to Champions League victory against AC Milan in Istanbul.

Players receive two votes and Gerrard revealed that he had voted for Henry and England team-mate Rooney.

Manchester United star Rooney said he was pleased to again pick up the young player prize.

"To win it twice on the run is a great honour and I am delighted with the award," Rooney said.

He beat off competition from Charlton striker Darren Bent, team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo, Tottenham's Aaron Lennon, Arsenal midfielder Cesc Fabregas and West Ham defender Anton Ferdinand.

Rooney added: "I voted for Fabregas, but it was close between him and Darren Bent."

1996: Robbie Fowler (Liverpool)
1997: David Beckham (Man Utd)
1998: Michael Owen (Liverpool)
1999: Nicolas Anelka (Arsenal)
2000: Harry Kewell (Leeds Utd)
2001: Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
2002: Craig Bellamy (Newcastle Utd)
2003: Jermaine Jenas (Newcastle Utd)
2004: Scott Parker (Chelsea)
2005: Wayne Rooney (Manchester Utd)
2006: Wayne Rooney (Manchester Utd)

It was no surprise that champions Chelsea had the most players named in the Premiership Team of the Year in the shape of John Terry, William Gallas, Joe Cole and Frank Lampard.

Newcastle's Shay Given was picked in goal while Wigan full-back Pascal Chimbonda was also included after a solid season for Paul Jewell's side.

But Wigan star Chimbonda fears it has come too late to land him a place in France's World Cup squad.

He said: "I have not given up hope. The window is still open, but the manager tends to look at the bigger players at the bigger clubs.

"Maybe he did not think Wigan would do as well as they have, so in that respect it will hardly be a surprise if I don't make it.

"But it's such a big honour. To make it into the PFA team means it has been a fantastic season, with a lot of pleasure derived from the fact the team have stayed up.

"To do so well has been a massive surprise. I was expecting a battle against relegation, so the way the season has gone, it has been far beyond my expectations."

Player of the Year:
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

Young Player of the Year:
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

Premiership Team of the Year:
Shay Given (Newcastle), Pascal Chimbonda (Wigan), John Terry (Chelsea), Jamie Carragher (Liverpool), William Gallas (Chelsea), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Joe Cole (Chelsea), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Thierry Henry (Arsenal), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United).

Championship Team of the Year:
Marcus Hahnemann (Reading), Gary Kelly (Leeds), Ibrahima Sonko (Reading), Joleon Lescott (Wolves), Nicky Shorey (Reading), Steve Sidwell (Reading), Ashley Young (Watford), Phil Jagielka (Sheffield United), Jason Koumas (Cardiff), Marlon King (Watford), Kevin Doyle (Reading)

League One Team of the Year:
Darryl Flahavan (Southend), Greg Halford (Colchester), Sam Sodje (Brentford), Adam Barrett (Southend), Gareth Roberts (Tranmere), Neil Danns (Colchester), Andy Robinson (Swansea), Kevin Maher (Southend) Michael McIndoe (Doncaster), Lee Trundle (Swansea), Billy Sharp (Scunthorpe).

League Two Team of the Year:
Joe Hart (Shrewsbury), Danny Senda (Wycombe), Roger Johnson (Wycombe), Gareth McAuley (Lincoln), Matthew Lockwood (Leyton Orient), Kevin Betsy (Wycombe), Joshua Low (Northampton), Mark Jones (Wrexham), Ian Taylor (Northampton), Karl Hawley (Carlisle), Michael Reddy (Grimsby).

Terry claims player of year award
24 Apr 05 |  Premiership
Henry retains PFA crown
25 Apr 04 |  Football
Henry honoured by peers
27 Apr 03 |  Premiership
Players honour Van Nistelrooy
15 Apr 02 |  Eng Prem
Sheringham wins second award
29 Apr 01 |  Football


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport