Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: You are in: Football  
Front Page 
FA Cup 
Eng Prem 
World Cup 2002 
Champions League 
Uefa Cup 
Worthington Cup 
Eng Div 1 
Eng Div 2 
Eng Div 3 
Eng Conf 
Scot Prem 
Scottish Cup 
CIS Ins Cup 
Scot Div 1 
Scot Div 2 
Scot Div 3 
League of Wales 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Wednesday, 27 February, 2002, 14:29 GMT
The managerial greats
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has extended his contract by three years
Sir Alex Ferguson watches his side beat nantes
Sir Alex Ferguson's decision to extend his managerial career by three more years is bad news for Manchester United's rivals.

Ferguson's record as United boss has seen him win more league titles than any other modern-day manager.

Here, BBC Sport Online compares his record to that of other legendary managers in the English game:

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson
Ferguson: The number one man?
Alex Ferguson
Manchester United

League championship: 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001.
FA Cup: 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999.
League Cup: 1992.
Champions League: 1999
Cup Winners' Cup: 1991

It seems amazing now that the FA Cup final win in 1990 probably saved Sir Alex Ferguson's job, but he used that success as a platform to win more trophies than any other British manager in history.

Bob Paisley claimed 13 trophies at Anfield
Paisley: Six league titles with Liverpool
Bob Paisley Liverpool

League championship: 1976, 1977, 1979, 1980, 1982, 1983.
League Cup: 1981, 1982, 1983.
European Cup: 1977, 1978, 1981.
Uefa Cup: 1976.

The late Bob Paisley enginerered Liverpool's domination of the domestic scene in the 1970s and early 1980s, and his success in Europe surpasses that of Ferguson.

Sir Matt Busby
Busby: Old Trafford legend
Sir Matt Busby
Manchester United

League championship: 1952, 1956, 1957, 1965, 1967.
FA Cup: 1948, 1963.
European Cup: 1968.

Sir Matt Busby built one of the most exciting and successful teams in history out of the ashes of the 1958 Munich air crash, which reached a pinnacle by beating Benfica to lift the European Cup 10 years later.

Brian Clough was in charge at Nottingham Forest and Derby
Clough: European Cup double
Brian Clough Derby and Nottingham Forest

League championship: 1972, 1978.
League Cup: 1978, 1979, 1989, 1990.
European Cup: 1979, 1980.

Clough became a legend in the Midlands, not only for turning unfashionable Derby and Nottingham Forest into champions, but for his forthright views and unpredictable behaviour that led to him being tagged "Old Bighead".

Bill Nicholson and Martin Chivers celebrate Tottenham's 1971 League Cup victory over Aston Villa
Nicholson: Spurs double winner
Bill Nicholson Tottenham
League championship: 1961.
FA Cup: 1961, 1962, 1967.
League Cup: 1971, 1973.
Cup Winners' Cup: 1963.
Uefa Cup: 1972.

Bill Nicholson joined Spurs in 1936 as a trainee player and will go down in history as the first manager to guide his team to a league and FA Cup double in 1961 and become the first British club to lift the European Cup Winners' Cup two years later.

Arsenal boss George Graham moved to Spurs
Graham: Six Highbury trophies
George Graham Arsenal and Tottenham

League championship: 1989, 1991.
FA Cup: 1993.
League Cup: 1987, 1993, 1999.
Cup Winners' Cup: 1994.

The uncompromising disciplinarian enjoyed success as a player at Arsenal and later returned as a manager to bring the glory years back to Highbury, but left under a cloud before resurfacing to win a trophy for rivals Spurs.

Former Arsenal and Huddersfield manager Herbert Chapman
Chapman: Four league title wins
Herbert Chapman Huddersfield and Arsenal

League championship: 1924, 1925, 1931, 1933.
FA Cup: 1922, 1930.

Herbert Chapman is credited with revolutionising the art of management between the wars with his new-fangled tactical acumen, as his Huddersfield and Arsenal sides swept all before them.

Bill Shankly hugs the League Championship trohy in 1973
Shankly: Greatest of them all?
Bill Shankly Liverpool

League championship: 1964, 1966, 1973.
FA Cup: 1965, 1974.
Uefa Cup: 1973.

Bill Shankly is probably the most quoted manager in history after putting Liverpool on the footballing map in the 1960s and laying the foundations for the Anfield side's domination of the domestic and European scenes in the next two decades.

Kenny Dalglish celebrates Liverpool's 1990 League title
Dalglish: Hero of Anfield
Kenny Dalglish Liverpool and Blackburn

League championship: 1986, 1988, 1990, 1995.
FA Cup: 1986, 1989.

Dalglish was the darling of the Kop as a player and won the league and FA Cup double in his first managerial season at Anfield, before snatching the Premiership crown for Blackburn nine years later.

Former Leeds and England boss Don Revie poses with the 1974 championship trophy
Revie: Elland Road glory years
Don Revie

League championship: 1969, 1974.
FA Cup: 1972.
League Cup: 1968.
Fairs Cup: 1968, 1971.

Revie's sides were known for their hard, uncompromising tactics, which mirrored his own character and brought the club equal measures of success and notoriety as they won silverware at home and in Europe during a golden period for the club.

Links to more Football stories are at the foot of the page.


E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Football stories

^^ Back to top