Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepage feedback | low graphics version
BBC Sport Online
You are in: Football  
Front Page 
Eng Prem 
FA Cup 
World Cup 2002 
Champions League 
Uefa Cup 
Worthington Cup 
Eng Div 1 
Eng Div 2 
Eng Div 3 
Eng Conf 
Scot Prem 
Scottish Cup 
CIS Ins Cup 
Scot Div 1 
Scot Div 2 
Scot Div 3 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Sunday, 29 April, 2001, 23:59 GMT 00:59 UK
Teams of the year
David Beckham strikes a free-kick
Beckham could not make the star-studded midfield

David Beckham was the surprise big-name omission from the PFA's Premiership team of the year.

The Manchester United midfielder was overlooked by his fellow professionals, who opted for his team-mates Roy Keane and Ryan Giggs, accompanied by Liverpool's Steven Gerrard and Arsenal's Patrick Vieira, in midfield.

PFA Player of the Year Teddy Sheringham was named up front along side Arsenal's French international Thierry Henry.

Six United players made the final XI, outlining their dominance in the Premiership this season.

Barthez (Man Utd), Carr (Tottenham), Silvinho (Arsenal), Stam (Man Utd), Brown (Man Utd), Keane (Man Utd), Giggs (Man Utd), Gerrard (Liverpool), Vieira (Arsenal), Henry (Arsenal), Sheringham (Man Utd).

Division One

Fulham and Blackburn Rovers players dominated the First Division's team of the year.

Like Manchester United, Fulham's achievements in the First Division were fully acknowledged as they took six of the 11 places in the team of the season.

Martin Grainger in action for Birmingham City
Martin Grainger has had an excellent season
Blackburn Rovers, currently chasing the second automatic promotion place, had four players in the final 11.

Birmingham defender Martin Grainger was the only player to have been voted from outside the top two teams.

Taylor (Fulham), Finnan (Fulham), Grainger (Birmingham), Coleman (Fulham), Berg (Blackburn), Clark (Fulham), Dunn (Blackburn), Duff (Blackburn), Davis (Fulham), Saha (Fulham), Jansen (Blackburn).

Division Two

Despite clinching promotion into the First Division, Rotherham had no players in the Second Division Team of the Year.

But Millwall, who also are promoted to the First Division, had three players in the final 11, including Australian midfielder Tim Cahill and 23-year-old striker Neil Harris.

Neil Harris in action
Neil Harris has scored 26 goals this season
Bristol City also had three players, Brian Tinnion, Scott Murray and Mickey Bell, in the final selection.

Walker (Walsall), Lawrence (Millwall), Bell (Bristol City), De Zeeuw (Wigan), Tillson (Walsall), Murray (Bristol City), Kavanagh (Stoke), Tinnion (Bristol City), Cahill (Millwall), Harris (Millwall), Butler (Reading).

Division Three

Top scorer Bobby Zamora was one of the 11 names selected amongst the Division Three Team of the Year.

The Brighton striker, who has netted 31 times this season, was named alongside Cardiff striker Robert Earnshaw.

Bobby Zamora in action for Brighton
Bobby Zamora has been a revelation this season
Despite the off-the-field wrangles that have plagued Chesterfield, their performance on the pitch earned them two players - Michael Pollitt and Steve Blatherwick - in the final 11.

Pollitt (Chesterfield), Low (Cardiff), Lockwood (Leyton Orient), Blatherwick (Chesterfield), Cullip (Brighton), Hodges (Scunthorpe), Currie (Barnet), Simpson (Blackpool), Miller (Hartlepool), Zamora (Brighton), Earnshaw (Cardiff).

Search BBC Sport Online
Advanced search options
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to top Football stories are at the foot of the page.

Links to other Football stories

^^ Back to top