Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepage feedback | low graphics version
BBC Sport Online
You are in: Football  
Front Page 
Eng Prem 
FA Cup 
World Cup 2002 
Champions League 
Uefa Cup 
Worthington Cup 
Eng Div 1 
Eng Div 2 
Eng Div 3 
Eng Conf 
Scot Prem 
Scottish Cup 
CIS Ins Cup 
Scot Div 1 
Scot Div 2 
Scot Div 3 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Sunday, 29 April, 2001, 22:12 GMT 23:12 UK
Sheringham wins second award
Sheringham and Gerrard took the plaudits of their peers
Sheringham and Gerrard took the plaudits of their peers
Manchester United striker Teddy Sheringham has been named the Professional Footballers' Association's player of the year.

The 35-year-old completed an awards double after being named footballer of the year by the Football Writers' Association earlier in the month.

Sheringham, who became the oldest player ever to win the title, headed the nominations ahead of United team-mate Roy Keane and Arsenal striker Thierry Henry, who finished second and third respectively.

Liverpool's dynamic young midfielder Steven Gerrard claimed the young player of the year award.

It's the biggest personal award you can get in the game and it's something that you really cherish
  Teddy Sheringham

The 20-year-old, who made his England debut this season, was named ahead of West Ham's Joe Cole and Manchester United defender Wes Brown.

Receiving his award from five-time Olympic gold medallist Sir Steven Redgrave, Sheringham described the accolade as the "biggest personal award you can get in the game".

"I first came to this dinner at 17 or 18 when I'd just started playing for Millwall and you think one day you are going to be up there," he said.

"I'm here now and it's a great honour to be recognised by your fellow professionals.

"It's a great list of previous winners and it's one of those things you will look back on in years to come.

"It's the biggest personal award you can get in the game and it's something that you really cherish."

England manager Sven Goran Eriksson
Gerrard received his award from Sven Goran Eriksson

Although the England international has yet to agree a new contract at Old Trafford, his 16 league goals have proved vital in United's championship campaign.

PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor was one man who fully appreciated Sheringham's achievements this season.

"It's a fitting testimony to the fact that there is no substitute for skill and ability regardless of age," he said.

Stewart overlooked

Sheringham was joined by fellow United team-mates Fabien Barthez, Jaap Stam, Wes Brown and Ryan Giggs in the PFA team of the year.

But David Beckham was the surprise omission from the team as Arsenal's Patrick Vieira and Gerrard took the other places in midfield.

Gerrard was presented his trophy by England manager Sven Goran Eriksson - a great admirer of his abilities.

"I was in contention for the award last year and I really wanted to win it this year," said Gerrard.

"I'm pleased that I have because it was a very good shortlist and there are some very good young players around."

Taylor added: "I think he has had an outstanding season. I am sure every England supporter will keep their fingers crossed he remains injury-free."

BBC Sport Online users believed Marcus Stewart, who was on the shortlist of the six players vying for the award, should have been recognised as player of the year.

In our vote, the Ipswich hitman, the Premiership's top scorer, polled 37%, with Sheringham only getting 10% of nearly 5,000 votes.

Search BBC Sport Online
Advanced search options
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to top Football stories are at the foot of the page.

Links to other Football stories

^^ Back to top