BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 22:02 GMT, Wednesday, 2 June 2010 23:02 UK

England and New Zealand name unchanged sides for series

England captain Charlotte Edwards
Edwards leads the same squad who played in the World Twenty20

England and New Zealand Women have both named the same squads who competed in the World Twenty20 for the forthcoming one-day and Twenty20 series.

Charlotte Edwards leads the same 14 England players who competed in the May tournament in the West Indies where New Zealand were runners-up to Australia.

The teams play three Twenty20 games and five one-day internationals on the tour which runs from 28 June to 29 July.

New Zealand will also play a one-day international against Ireland.

The Twenty20 games will be played before regular domestic Twenty20 games between Essex and Sussex at Chelmsford, Hampshire and Glamorgan at The Rose Bowl, and Sussex and Middlesex at Hove.

"Once again there was stiff competition for places but the selectors feel that this is a balanced squad of highly talented players for both the Twenty20 and the 50 over format," said Clare Connor, head of England Women's Cricket at the England and Wales Cricket Board.

"Whilst the outcome of the tournament in the Caribbean was hugely disappointing, the selectors believe that this group of players have the resolve and skills required to deliver the England women's team back to winning."

White Ferns coach and selector Gary Stead said their squad "features a nice blend of youth and experience.

"This group is versatile and provides plenty of cover for the different conditions we are likely to encounter in England.

"This tour will be used to look at developing some of the new players into important roles."

Stead added: "As part of the selection succession planning in leadership positions Suzie Bates will replace Amy Satterthwaite as vice-captain."

England women's squad for the International T20 and ODI Series against New Zealand:

Charlotte Edwards (Kent, captain), Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire), Holly Colvin (Sussex), Lydia Greenway (Kent), Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire), Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire), Heather Knight (Berkshire), Laura Marsh (Sussex), Beth Morgan (Middlesex), Nicky Shaw (Surrey), Anya Shrubsole (Somerset), Claire Taylor (Berkshire), Sarah Taylor (Sussex), Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire).

New Zealand squad:

Aimee Watkins (capt), Suzie Bates (vice-capt), Erin Bermingham, Kate Broadmore, Nicola Browne, Sophie Devine, Natalie Dodd, Lucy Doolan, Maria Fahey, Sara McGlashan (wk), Liz Perry, Rachel Priest (wk), Sian Ruck, Amy Satterthwaite.

Print Sponsor

see also
Australia win women's T20 final
16 May 10 |  Women's cricket
England's women sign off with win
09 May 10 |  Women's cricket
New Zealand women in England 2010
20 Jul 10 |  Women's cricket
Cricket scores on your mobile
20 Apr 07 |  Cricket
Download a cricket mask
24 Nov 05 |  Get Involved

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites