BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:00 GMT, Wednesday, 31 March 2010 13:00 UK

Teenage trio named in England women's World T20 squad

Charlotte Edwards

Highlights - England's women win 2009 World Twenty20

England have put their faith in youth for their defence of the ICC Women's World Twenty20 title in the Caribbean.

Isa Guha, Caroline Atkins and Ebony Rainford-Brent miss out after being part of the squad which won last year's inaugural tournament.

Their places in the squad of 14 have gone to teenagers Heather Knight, Danielle Wyatt and Anya Shrubsole.

England play their opening first round group game against Australia in St Kitts on 5 May.

And Clare Connor, the head of English women's cricket, said she believed that despite the changes, the squad contained the "necessary skills" to retain the trophy.

"Whilst this will be no easy feat given the strength of our group [Australia, West Indies and South Africa], the Twenty20 series win in India in February has prepared the squad well for the challenge," she commented.

"In order to make way for the return of Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin, who missed the India tour due to other commitments, the selectors have had to make some tough decisions.

"A couple of senior players have missed out on selection but the door remains open to them with a huge summer ahead against New Zealand in July. It is exactly this sort of competition for places that we are always striving for."

Knight, 19, and 18-year-old Wyatt, made their senior international debuts on the recent tour to India, where England lost the one-day series but bounced back to take the Twenty20 series 2-1.

Seam bowler Shrubsole, also 18, has been in and around the squad since the summer of 2008, but her inclusion ahead of the more experienced Guha, who has taken more than 120 wickets for England in all forms of the game, represents something of a gamble.

The batting line-up, meanwhile, has been given a significant boost by the return of the two Taylors - Claire and Sarah.

Claire, the 2009 ICC Women's Player of the Year, steered England home in last year's final against New Zealand with an unbeaten 39, but missed the tours to West Indies and India either side of Christmas because of work commitments.

Opening bat Sarah, meanwhile, is back to full fitness after having to return home early from India because of a hip problem.

England's ICC Women's Twenty20 squad: Charlotte Edwards (Kent, capt), Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire), Holly Colvin (Sussex), Lydia Greenway (Kent), Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire), Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire), Heather Knight (Devon), Laura Marsh (Sussex), Beth Morgan (Middlesex), Nicky Shaw (Surrey), Anya Shrubsole (Somerset), Claire Taylor (Berkshire), Sarah Taylor (Sussex), Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire).

Print Sponsor

see also
Women's World Twenty20 2010
17 May 10 |  Women's cricket
England women win Twenty20 series
08 Mar 10 |  Women's cricket
Knight called up by England women
21 Feb 10 |  Devon
Wyatt shocked by England call-up
21 Dec 09 |  Cricket
Taylor delighted by 'special' MBE
31 Dec 09 |  Women's cricket
England women win World Twenty20
21 Jun 09 |  Women's cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites