BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:57 GMT, Wednesday, 16 December 2009

Teenager Danielle Wyatt named in England women's squad

Wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor returns to the squad after missing the West Indies tour
Sarah Taylor will return to the top of the batting order in India

Uncapped off-spinner Danielle Wyatt is in the 15-strong England women's squad to tour India in February and March.

The 18-year-old from Stoke replaces fellow spinner Holly Colvin, who is unavailable because of her academic commitments at Durham University.

Wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor returns after being rested for England's recent series defeat in the West Indies.

Star batter Claire Taylor is still taking a break from cricket, but will return for the World Twenty20 in April.

She was recently named as Women's Cricketer of the Year by the International Cricket Council, but is concentrating on her management consultant job and will return to training in February.

England, who won the World Cup and World Twenty20 in 2009 as well as retaining the Ashes, are due to play five one-day internationals and three Twenty20 internationals in India.


They will hope to bounce back after losing 2-1 to the Windies in both limited-overs formats - with Colvin the only player missing from the 14 who toured the Caribbean.

Sarah Taylor's return will strengthen the top of the batting order, while she should also reclaim the wicketkeeping gloves from Tamsin Beaumont.

Former skipper Clare Connor, now the England and Wales Cricket Board's head of women's cricket, said: "The team has had an outstanding year in 2009 but attentions have already turned to what will be a challenging year in 2010.

"India will be a real test for the squad - without Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin there are opportunities for other squad members to stake a claim for a place ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in April and the series against New Zealand this summer.

"It is a demanding place to play cricket and the fact that no squad member has ever won a series in India proves just what a challenge the three weeks will be.

"The girls will be determined to change their losing record in India and come back with wins in both the one-day and Twenty20 series."

The squad is due to arrive in Bangalore on 15 February, with the first ODI four days later.

England squad to tour India: Charlotte Edwards (Kent, capt), Caroline Atkins (Sussex), Tamsin Beaumont (Kent), Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire), Lydia Greenway (Kent), Isa Guha (Berkshire), Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire), Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire), Laura Marsh (Sussex), Beth Morgan (Middlesex), Ebony Rainford-Brent (Surrey), Nicky Shaw (Surrey), Anya Shrubsole (Somerset), Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire).

Print Sponsor

see also
Women's coach Lane scoops award
09 Dec 09 |  Women's cricket
England women suffer series loss
10 Nov 09 |  Women's cricket
England women lose one-day series
07 Nov 09 |  Women's cricket
Taylor secures top women's award
01 Oct 09 |  Women's cricket
Beaumont earns Windies tour place
22 Sep 09 |  Women's cricket
England women defend Ashes crown
13 Jul 09 |  Women's cricket
England women win World Twenty20
21 Jun 09 |  Women's cricket
World Cup joy for England women
22 Mar 09 |  Women's cricket
England women in India 2010
08 Mar 10 |  Women's cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites