Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 10 April, 2005, 14:37 GMT 15:37 UK
Australia lift Women's World Cup
Women's World Cup final, Supersport Park, Centurion
Australia 215-4 (50 overs) beat India 117 (46 overs) by 98 runs

Karen Rolton
Rolton's century was her sixth in a one-day international

Karen Rolton became the first player to make a century in a Women's World Cup final as Australia outclassed India by 98 runs to win the trophy.

Rolton hit 11 fours in her 107 not out off 138 balls at Centurion Park.

She put on 139 for the fourth wicket with Indian-born Lisa Sthalekar, who was caught and bowled in the final over of Australia's innings for 55.

Four run outs wrecked India's hopes and Cathryn Fitzpatrick picked up two late wickets as they were all out for 117.

The end came when left-arm spinner Shelley Nitschke (2-14) bowled Nooshin Al Khadeer for a duck with the last ball of the 47th over.

Nitschke had earlier won a debatable lbw decision against Indian skipper Mithali Raj, which effectively ended the game as a contest.

Raj, whose 91 not out proved too much for previous winners New Zealand in the semi-finals, managed only six and her dismissal came in the middle of a spell which saw five Indian wickets go down for 25 runs in nine overs.

Amita Sharma (22) and Jhulan Goswami (18) played some bold strokes to see their total to three figures but they could not take the shine off Australia's dominant display.

Their only wobble came when they were 31-2 after Belinda Clark had won the toss and chosen to bat first.

215 was always going to be difficult to chase if we bowled in the right areas
Belinda Clark

Clark looked in ominous form with four fours in her 19 before a thin edge off Sharma resulted in a catch for keeper Anju Jain.

Lisa Keightley was caught at second slip off Goswami for five, but Rolton and Mel Jones steadied the innings with a stand of 40.

Jones eventually missed an attempted sweep and was lbw to Neetu David for 17 but Sthalekar made a composed start to her innings, elegantly driving square and then through the covers for boundaries, and Rolton progressed to fifty with an easy single to mid-off.

She had a let-off on 62 when Sharma failed to hold a chance at mid-on after getting both hands to the ball and it was a fielding lapse which cost India dear.

The Southern Stars added 82 from the final 10 overs with Rolton launching a ball from Goswami over cover in the 49th over to bring up her hundred.

It was quickly followed by Sthalekar's half century and only then did she abandon her orthodox technique, a move which led to her undoing when she was dismissed by Dhar with three balls of the innings remaining.

India needed to keep the scoreboard ticking over and keep wickets intact if they were to have a chance, but achieved neither objective.

Lisa Sthalekar
Sthalekar's elegant style complemented Rolton perfectly

A mix-up saw Jaya Sharma become the first of the run out victims in a razor sharp fielding effort by Australia and Anju Jain was caught at mid-wicket by Sthalekar off Clea Smith after making a useful 29.

It was a deserved reward for medium pacer Smith, who bowled her entire 10-over allocation in one spell for figures of 1-20.

India's innings went into freefall with Anjum Chopra (10) and Dhar (six) beaten by direct hits from Julie Hayes and Clark and Hemlata Kala run out by a combination of Sthalekar and Rolton.

It left them on 63-6 and although Sharma and Goswami stayed together for 13 overs, the downfall of the former, lbw to Sthalekar, proved to be the beginning of the end.

Pace bowler Fitzpatrick claimed her first success when Goswami carved a catch to backward point and she then hit David's off stump to leave India on the brink.

She took 2-23 but was denied the chance of the final word by Nitschke as Australia sealed their fifth World Cup win and emulated their male compatriots, who beat India in their final in 2003, also held in South Africa.

Australia: B J Clark (capt), L M Keightley, K L Rolton, L C Sthalekar, M Jones, A J Blackwell, J C Price (wkt), J Hayes, S Nitschke, C Smith, C L Fitzpatrick

India: A Jain (wkt), J Sharma, A Chopra, M Raj (capt), R Dhar, H Kala, A Sharma, J Goswami, D M Marathe, N David, N Al Khadeer

Report: BBC Five Live's Alison Mitchell

Interview: Australian captain Belinda Clark

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport