Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated:  Thursday, 10 April, 2003, 22:24 GMT 23:24 UK
Australia take control
First Test, Georgetown, day one:
West Indies 237 v Australia 120-1

Chanderpaul smashed the third-fastest century ever
Chanderpaul smashed the third-fastest century ever

A quickfire century from Shivnarine Chanderpaul was not enough to stop Australia taking control on the first day of the first Test in Georgetown.

The Guyanese left-hander kissed the turf of his home ground after reaching the third-fastest Test century ever.

He took just 69 deliveries to score his seventh Test ton - and first against Australia - with 15 fours and two sixes.

But the tourists fought back immediately, with Andy Bichel claiming Chanderpaul as one of two wickets in a single over, and the West Indies finished on 237 all out.

At the close of play Australia were 120-1, with Justin Langer unbeaten on 55 and Ricky Ponting on 46.

Despite losing the toss in his record 157th Test, visiting captain Steve Waugh enjoyed a successful morning, courtesy of a five-man attack.

Brett Lee made the first breakthrough, trapping debutant opener Devon Smith lbw despite the batsman getting an obvious inside edge.

And the hosts were left reeling in the next over when Darren Ganga was bowled by Jason Gillespie.

Brian Lara raced to 26 with six boundaries to his name but the home side's recovery was undermined when spinner Brad Hogg snared two wickets in consecutive balls.

Wavell Hinds spooned the spinner to Justin Langer at mid-off before Marlon Samuels edged to slip fielder Matt Hayden.

Chanderpaul survived the hat-trick ball, but Lara soon fell when Bichel won an lbw decision.

And Bichel struck again to have Chanderpaul lbw, painfully struck on the inside of his left knee, before removing Vasbert Drakes, caught behind on his third ball.

West Indies: B C Lara (capt), R D Jacobs (wkt), W W Hinds, D S Smith, D Ganga, S Chanderpaul, M N Samuels, V C Drakes, M Dillon, P T Collins, J J C Lawson.

Australia: S R Waugh (capt), A C Gilchrist (wkt), J L Langer, M L Hayden, R T Ponting, D S Lehmann, G B Hogg, A J Bichel, B Lee, J N Gillespie, S C G MacGill.

Umpires: EAR de Silva, RE Koertzen.

Links to more WI v Aus 2003 stories


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites
E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing
Athletics | Photo Galleries | TV/Radio Listings | Question of Sport | Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales
BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport