Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Last Updated: Wednesday, 28 March 2007, 08:53 GMT 09:53 UK
Stump the Bearded Wonder No 143
Bill Frindall is waiting for your questions
Bill Frindall, aka the Bearded Wonder, answers your latest batch of queries.

Remember, the Test Match Special statistician is always on hand to help you out with your questions. And if you think you can catch him out, have a go!

Fill in the form on the right-hand side of the page to stump the Bearded Wonder.

Pete Haslam, England

Can you tell me what the South Africa target would have been under Duckworth-Lewis in the rain affected semi-final of the 1992 World Cup, please?

A fascinating question to start this batch, Pete. Played in Sydney on 22 March 1992, that match was originally reduced to 45 overs. England scored 252-6 (Graeme Hick 83) and South Africa were 231-6 after 42.5 overs when rain halted play for 17 minutes. When play resumed, their target was revised to 252 from 43 overs, effectively 21 runs off one ball.

Under the current D-L format, South Africa's target would have been 236 - four to tie and five to win.

John Yarnley, England

Which bowler has taken the most Test wickets without achieving a) a 10-wicket haul and b) a five-wicket haul?

Two England bowlers with contemporary careers head those lists. Bob Willis took 325 wickets in 90 Tests with a best match analysis of 9 for 92. The next highest tally without a ten-wicket match return is 259 by Joel Garner (West Indies) and by Jason Gillespie (Australia).

Mike Hendrick (87 wickets in 30 Tests) has the highest tally without a five-wicket innings analysis, his best effort being 4 for 28. South Africa's Brian McMillan (75 wickets) is his runner-up.

Edmond Beckford, Jamaica

Can a captain batting in limited-overs cricket declare his team's innings?

No, he cannot declare in any competition subject to playing conditions but he probably could in a friendly knockabout. Law 14 (Declaration and Forfeiture) does not apply to limited-overs competitions and the captain of the batting side may not declare his innings closed at any time during the course of the match.

Prior to this regulation, Brian Rose declared Somerset's innings in a Benson and Hedges Cup game at Worcester on 24 May 1979. Opening the batting with Peter Denning he declared after one over in which Vanburn Holder conceded a no-ball. Glenn Turner scored his second single for the hosts off the tenth ball of the innings and the match was over in 10 minutes (17 balls) of actual playing time. Somerset protected their superior scoring rate in their group but were disqualified from that season's competition by the TCCB for bringing the game into disrepute.

Ghufran Rizvi, USA

Was Ricky Ponting the first cricketer to score back-to-back 100s in the World Cup - 140* against India in 2003 Final and 113 against Scotland in 2007?

Ricky Ponting is the fourth to score consecutive World Cup hundreds following Mark Waugh (1995-96), Rahul Dravid (1999) and Saeed Anwar (1999).

Icki Iqbal, UK

Peter and Dick Richardson played for England against West Indies in the Third Test of 1957. Have there been other instances of brothers playing for England in the same Test?

There have been five instances of brothers appearing together for England. First there were the three Graces (E.M., G.F. and W.G.) who made their debuts against Australia at The Oval in 1880, the first Test played in England.

Next came Charles and George Studd, who each played in the four Tests against Australia in 1882-83. The third set were Alec and George Hearne who appeared at Cape Town in 1891-92, while a third brother, Frank, represented South Africa.

Then came the Richardsons 65 years later at Trent Bridge before that ground featured the most recent instance when Adam and Ben Hollioake made their joint debut against Australia in August 1997.

Heather Lindsay, UK

I have a watercolour of a painting by Arthur Batchelor depicting a cricket match between an England XI and Australia in 1922 at Old Buckenham in Norfolk. Do you have any record of such a match and, if so, who were the players?

Your painting almost certainly depicts the three-day first-class match between Lionel Robinson's XI and Warwick Armstrong's 1921 Australians at Old Buckenham Hall near Attleborough in Norfolk on 4, 5 and 6 May. The tourists, who went on to win the Test series 3-0 with two matches drawn, were dismissed for only 136. Their hosts responded with 256-7 declared but rain caused the match to be abandoned as a draw with the Australians 25-1.

L.Robinson's XI - J.B.Hobbs, D.J.Knight, V.W.C.Jupp, E.H.Hendren, A.P.F.Chapman, J.W.H.T.Douglas, P.G.H.Fender, G.E.C.Wood, C.H.Gibson, J.C.White and A.C.MacLaren (captain)
Australians - W.Bardsley, H.L.Collins, C.G.Macartney, J.M.Taylor, W.W.Armstong (captain), J.M.Gregory, J.Ryder, H.S.T.L.Hendry, H.Carter, E.A.McDonald and A.A.Mailey. Clement Gibson (Cambridge University and Sussex), a right-handed fast-medium bowler, was the only player taking part who did not grace the Test match arena.

Richard Knight, UK

Ed Joyce got out in the recent New Zealand match having faced only one previous ball. Since this was a no-ball, does this still count as a golden duck?

No, because he could have scored - or been dismissed - off the no-ball.

Mike H, England

In a recent World Cup match, Ireland made 221-9 in their 50 overs, before bowling out Zimbabwe for 221. Why was this match a tie? Didn't one-day matches with even scores used to be settled by the number of wickets lost?

It all depends upon the rules of the competition or tournament. In the current World Cup tournament the tie stands with each team taking one point in the Preliminary and Super Eight rounds. If a semi-final or the final ends in a tie the result will be decided by a bowl-out with bowlers from opposing teams taking turns to bowl at a set of three stumps. The team with the most hits after five deliveries each is the winner.

Patrick, England

Who is Warner Park in St Kitts named after? I found six West Indians called Warner who played first-class cricket but none were from St Kitts. Five were from Trinidad, however, which is also where Sir Pelham Warner, the former England captain, was born. Is he related to the cricketing Warners and is he the one who the stadium in St Kitts is named for?

Warner Park is named after Ernest Noble Warner, president of the Madison Park and Pleasure Drive Association (MPPDA) who, in 1898, acquired a 2200 feet long segment land that ran along a beach on the northwest side of Lake Mendota. Shortly before his death in a motor accident in 1930, Warner had appointed a committee of the MPPDA to investigate acquiring the beach for the public. Within two weeks of his death, the Ernest N. Warner Memorial Park Committee was formed to raise $20,000 to buy the beach as a memorial.

There is no evidence of Ernest Walker being related to Sir Pelham. Two of the latter's brothers - Charles W.P.Warner and R.S.Aucher Warner - did play first-class cricket for Trinidad and Tobago.

Edmarine Lowe-Ching, Jamaica

On what date did England play their first Test match in the Caribbean? When and where did West Indies first defeat England in a Test?

England's first Test in the Caribbean took place in Barbados at Bridgetown's Kensington Oval on 11-16 January 1930 and ended in a draw. England won the Second Test, at Queen's Park Oval in Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, by 167 runs. West Indies levelled the series in the next match with a 289-run victory at Bourda in Georgetown, British Guiana (now Guyana) on 21-26 February. Thus the hosts gained their first win against England at their sixth attempt, having lost all three Tests in England in 1928 by innings margins.

Don, England

Looking at last season's County Championship bowling averages, I see that Phil Jaques' analysis was 0.2-0-15-0. How was it possible to concede 15 runs from two balls?

Worcestershire put on occasional bowlers to speed Surrey towards a fourth day declaration (136 for 3 off 8.2 overs). Phil Jaques was the third and last of these trundlers. His analysis included a no-ball and Surrey declared as soon as they reached the agreed target-setting total off his second legitimate ball. Set 285 off 32 overs, Worcestershire gained a dramatic two-wicket win with just one ball to spare. Jaques led the chase with a 64-ball century before Zaheer Khan, in desperate light, clinched victory by clouting his first ball for six.

Stuart Cox, Perth, W Australia

A few years ago I noticed Robert Croft stopping, very briefly, right at the point of delivery before continuing to bowl the ball. Is this legal and was he ever prevented from doing this? I have bowled this a few times in club cricket and had numerous complaints from batsman - although no umpire has ever taken any action.

I don't recall Croft being reprimanded by an umpire, probably because there is nothing specifically dealing with Croft's gimmick in Law 42 (Fair and Unfair Play). Arguably it could contravene Note 4 (Deliberate attempt to Distract Striker). If I were batting against you I would move away from the crease as soon as you froze!

Your E-mail address

The BBC may edit your comments and not all emails will be published. Your comments may be published on any BBC media worldwide.

Bill Frindall Q&A
25 May 06 |  Cricket


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us