BBC Sport cricket

Related BBC sites


LBW: Batsman is out

In line of stumps

In this situation, the ball has pitched on the stumps and has struck the batsman on the pads in front of the wicket.

The ball has not pitched outside the line of leg stump.

And it has not struck the batsman outside the line of off stump.

Therefore the umpire should give the batsman out.

But a lot of the time it is never this simple...



related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

BBC navigation

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.