BBC Sport cricket

Related BBC sites

Ways of getting out: Obstructing the field

Inzamam-ul-Haq is given out 'obstructing the field' in 2006
Inzamam was given out 'obstructing the field' in Peshawar in 2006

The umpire can give a batsman out "obstructing the field" if he feels the batter has got in the way of a fielder who is about to take a catch or attempt a run-out.

But the obstruction has to be seen to be a deliberate act to be given out, and the bowler does not get the credit for the dismissal.

This is a very uncommon method of dismissal hardly ever seen in club or international cricket.

However Pakistan's Inzamam-ul-Haq was controversially dismissed in this fashion during Pakistan's one-day international against India in Peshawar in February 2006.

The Pakistan batsman was out of his crease when he "defended" Suresh Raina's throw at the stumps from the outfield.

The Indian fielders rightly appealed and Inzamam was given his marching orders, much to his chagrin.

He was only the third batsman in the history of limited-overs internationals to be given out obstructing the field.

More recently, former England batsman Mark Ramprakash was given out obstructing the field while playing for Surrey against Gloucestershire in the County Championship in 2011.





related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

BBC iD

Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.