BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 19:54 GMT, Monday, 17 August 2009 20:54 UK

Windies retain weakened ODI squad

Daren Powell has been recalled by West Indies
Powell was dropped after a disappointing series against England

West Indies, who sacked coach John Dyson last week, have named a largely inexperienced 15-man squad for the forthcoming ICC Champions Trophy.

None of the 13 players who boycotted the recent Test series with Bangladesh because of a pay dispute are selected.

A second-string squad was whitewashed 2-0 in the Tests and 3-0 in the one-day internationals, although they did win the sole Twenty20 international.

Batsman Floyd Reifer continues as captain of the makeshift Windies side.

Pace bowler Daren Powell earns a recall for the first time since he was dropped after England's tour of the Caribbean earlier this year.


Although the striking players, including captain Chris Gayle, made themselves available for the subsequent one-day international series against Bangladesh, the West Indies Cricket Board had already named a squad excluding the strikers.

Former Commonwealth secretary-general Shridath Ramphal has been brought in to mediate between the WICB and West Indies Players' Association, but it appears there has been no resolution yet.

Dyson lost his job last week, with his assistant David Williams taking over on a temporary basis.

The Champions Trophy begins in South Africa on 22 September, with West Indies facing Pakistan in Johannesburg the following day.

West Indies squad for ICC Champions Trophy: Floyd Reifer (capt), David Bernard, Tino Best, Royston Crandon, Travis Dowlin, Andre Fletcher, Nikita Miller, Daren Powell, Kieran Powell, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Devon Smith, Gavin Tonge, Chadwick Walton (wk).

Print Sponsor

see also
West Indies dismiss coach Dyson
13 Aug 09 |  West Indies
Windies earn win over Bangladesh
02 Aug 09 |  Cricket
Bangladesh seal Windies whitewash
31 Jul 09 |  Cricket
Windies stars end player boycott
21 Jul 09 |  West Indies
ICC raises Champions Trophy pot
20 Jul 09 |  Cricket
ICC Champions Trophy 2009 squads
25 Aug 09 |  Cricket
ICC Champions Trophy 2009
05 Oct 09 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.