BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:47 GMT, Friday, 21 May 2010 12:47 UK

Sri Lanka rest Kumar Sangakkara for Zimbabwe series

Kumar Sangakkara
Kumar Sangakkara will be replaced by Tillakaratne Dilshan

Sri Lanka will rest regular captain Kumar Sangakkara and three other senior players for the tri-nation series which begins in Zimbabwe on 28 May.

Tillakaratne Dilshan is to lead the side in the limited-overs series, which also features India and Zimbabwe.

Veteran spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, batsman Mahela Jayawardene and paceman Lasith Malinga will also be rested.

Leg-spinner Jeewan Mendis and batsman Dines Chandimal are the uncapped players in the squad.

All-rounder Angelo Matthews will be Dilshan's deputy in the series, which runs until 9 June.

Left-handed batsman Lahiru Thirimanne, who played two one-day internationals against Bangladesh earlier this year, has also been recalled.

Opening batsman Upul Tharanga, middle-order batsman Chamara Silva and fast bowler Dilhara Fernando, who all were ignored for the recent ICC World Twenty20 in the Caribbean, also return to the squad.

Sri Lanka squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Angelo Mathews (vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Ajantha Mendis, Jeewan Mendis, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Silva, Thisera Perera.

Print Sponsor

see also
India and Sri Lanka in Zimbabwe 2010
09 Jun 10 |  Cricket
India & Sri Lanka in Bangladesh 2010
27 Jan 10 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.