BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:32 GMT, Thursday, 15 October 2009 11:32 UK

India replace Dravid with Sehwag

Rahul Dravid
Dravid scored 80 runs during India's disappointing Champions Trophy

Former India captain Rahul Dravid has been replaced by Virender Sehwag for the first two games of the seven-match one-day series against Australia.

It is a blow for Dravid, 36, who returned to the side for the lacklustre Champions Trophy campaign in South Africa after a two-year absence.

Sehwag returns from a shoulder injury having come through the Champions League for the Delhi Daredevils.

Hard-hitting Yuvraj Singh has also made the squad, despite fitness concerns.

The first one-day international will be held in Vadodara, western India, on 25 October.

Pace bowler Zaheer Khan misses out as he recovers from a shoulder injury, leading to a call-up for Sudeep Tyagi, who played for the Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League.

Meanwhile, Munaf Patel replaces left-arm seamer RP Singh, who was deemed surplus to requirements along with all-rounder Yusuf Pathan.

Virat Kohli, who was rushed out to take Yuvraj's place for the Champions Trophy, retains his place in the side ahead of wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik.


Yuvraj injured his finger two days before the tournament, which saw India fail to reach the semi-finals, and despite his inclusion in the squad to face the Aussies, doubts remain about his health.

Board of Control for Cricket in India secretary N Srinivasan said: "The selectors were advised that Yuvraj Singh would definitely be fit to play the second ODI (on 28 October).

"It is possible he may play the first match as well and a decision on the playing 11 would be made subject to his fitness."

Meanwhile, Venkatesh Prasad and Robin Singh have been sacked as India's bowling and fielding coaches.

The pair had come under increasing pressure on the back of first-round exits in two successive limited overs events.

They took up the roles after the team's first-round elimination in the 2007 one-day World Cup.

India squad: Mahendra Dhoni (capt & wk), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli, Harbhajan Singh, Sudeep Tyagi, Munaf Patel, Amit Mishra, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ashish Nehra.

Print Sponsor

see also
Mumbai lands 2011 World Cup final
14 Oct 09 |  Cricket
India knocked out despite victory
30 Sep 09 |  Cricket
Australia retain Champions Trophy
05 Oct 09 |  Cricket
Australia in India 2009
11 Nov 09 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.