Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 18 January, 2005, 10:34 GMT
Draw gives Bangladesh series win
Second Test, Dhaka, day five: Bangladesh 211 & 285-5 drew with v Zimbabwe 298 & 286
Bangladesh win series 1-0

Nafis Iqbal
Iqbal showed tremendous patience for such a young player

Bangladesh opener Nafis Iqbal compiled a maiden Test century as they ground out a draw with Zimbabwe in Dhaka to secure their first series win.

The home side, having won the first Test in Chittagong, opted not to chase a target of 374 after starting the final day on 98-0.

Iqbal faced 355 balls for his 121 and Rajin Saleh made an unbeaten 56 in the last session as they ended on 285-5.

Zimbabwe used eight different bowlers, with Tinashe Panyangara taking 3-28.

We thought a draw was a better option as we won the first Test
Habibul Bashar

They had a fleeting glimpse of possible victory when Panyangara had Aftab Ahmed caught behind for five to reduce the home side to 206-5.

But Saleh and Khaled Mashud (28 not out) stood firm as they added 79 in 22 overs before the two teams shook hands.

The morning session provided dull fare as Bangladesh added only 37 runs for the loss of Javed Omar.

He and 19-year-old Iqbal shared an opening stand of 133 before Omar was caught off leg-spinner Graeme Cremer for 43.

Zimbabwe picked up two wickets in quick succession soon after lunch as Habibul Bashar fell to Panyangara for two and Mohammad Ashraful became Cremer's second victim, departing third ball for three.

But having reached 90 not out, Iqbal wasted no time in progressing to his century with two successive fours and then a tuck off his hip for two runs.

Iqbal was 121 not out in a total of 196-3 at tea but failed to add to it as Panyangara had him caught by Brendan Taylor.

Aftab followed four overs later but Saleh and Mashud blocked out Zimbabwe's final effort before producing a flurry of strokes to briefly enliven proceedings before the close.

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar (captain), Khaled Mashud, Rajin Saleh, Nafis Iqbal, Javed Omar, Mohammad Ashraful, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Rafique, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tapash Baisya, Enamul Haque Junior.

Zimbabwe: Tatenda Taibu (captain), Stuart Matsikenyeri, Douglas Hondo, Brendan Taylor, Christopher Mpofu, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer, Hamilton Masakadza, Tinashe Panyangara, Dion Ebrahim, Barney Rogers.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport