Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 23 August 2005, 14:38 GMT 15:38 UK
Sri Lanka focused on Bangladesh
Marvan Atapattu
Atapattu made an unbeaten 201 against Bangaldesh in 2001
Marvan Atapattu will lead a strong Sri Lanka squad for the forthcoming Test and one-day series with Bangladesh.

"We are not taking the opposition lightly as you cannot take chances in international cricket," chairman of selectors Lalith Kaluperuma said.

All-rounder Thilan Samaraweera and opener Avishka Gunawardene have been added to the one-day squad, replacing pacemen Nuwan Zoysa and Lasith Malinga.

Three one-day games starting on 31 August will be followed by two Tests.

Samaraweera, 28, last played one-day international cricket against England in December 2002 and has been regarded as a Test specialist since.

"We are resting Zoysa for both the one-day and Test series, while Malinga will play only in Tests," Kaluperuma said.

"We might rotate some of the players to give the youngsters a chance but not at the expense of diluting the strength of the team."

Middle-order batsman Shantha Kalavithigoda has been chosen to replace Zoysa in the Test squad.

Bangladesh arrive on Wednesday and will play a warm-up game against a Board President's team on Sunday.

The minnows have won only one of their 38 Tests, against Zimbabwe in January, and have 10 wins from 112 one-day internationals.

Sri Lanka one-day squad: Marvan Atapattu (capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Russel Arnold, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Upul Chandana, Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Avishka Gunawardene, Dilhara Fernando, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Thilan Samaraweera.
Sri Lanka Test squad: Marvan Atapattu (capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Rangana Herath, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga, Russel Arnold, Gayan Wijekoon, Dilhara Fernando, Shantha Kalavithigoda.

Jayasuriya feat in Sri Lanka win
09 Aug 05 |  International Teams


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport