Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Monday, 10 January, 2005, 07:07 GMT
Bangladesh record maiden Test win
First Test, Chittagong: Bangladesh 488 & 204-9 dec beat Zimbabwe 312 & 154 by 226 runs

Bangladesh celebrate
Bangladesh celebrated their first win at their 35th attempt
Bangladesh ended a four-year wait for their maiden Test victory as they secured a 226-run win over Zimbabwe.

Spinner Enamul Haque Jr took a career best 6-45 to bowl Zimbabwe out for 154 in the first Test in Chittagong.

Chasing 312, the African team resumed on 46-3 on day five and made good progress to 112 before Haque struck to remove Brendan Taylor for 42.

After Tatenda Taibu was out for a duck, Hamilton Masakadza hit 56 but the innings was finished in mid-afternoon.

Slow left-armer Haque took a fine return catch to dismiss Masakadza.

Elton Chigumbura was caught after lunch for 10 by wicket-keeper Khaled Mashud off Mashrafe Mortaza.

Graeme Cremer became Haque's fifth victim when he was caught at silly-point by Rajin Saleh for two.

Mortaza bowled Mluleki Nkala and Haque fittingly claimed the historic last wicket when he had Chris Mpofu caught by Mohammad Ashraful at silly-point.

The players then ran towards each other to celebrate before being joined by coach Dav Whatmore and then setting off on a lap of honour.
Outside the stadium, thousands of people ran onto the streets, beating drums and waving flags and chanting.

Bangladesh had lost 31 of their 34 previous matches since gaining Test status in 2000.

The remaining three Tests - two against Zimbabwe and one against the West Indies - were drawn.

The closest they had come to victory previously was in September 2003 when Pakistan, chasing a target of 261, won by a single wicket.

Zimbabwe are playing their first Test since being suspended fby the ICC last year for fielding a weakened team after a dispute between their board and several leading players.

Their last victory came against Bangladesh in February 2004.

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar (captain), Khaled Mashud, Nafis Iqbal, Javed Omar, Mohammed Ashraful, Rajin Saleh, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammed Rafique, Enamul Haque, Tapash Baishya and Mashrafe Mortaza.

Zimbabwe: Tatenda Taibu (captain), Elton Chigumbura, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Barney Rogers, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor, Graeme Cremer, Christopher Mpofu, Douglas Hondo, Mluleki Nkala.

Umpires: T Wijewardena (Sri), Asad Rauf (Pkn)

Interview: Bangladesh coach Dav Whatmore

Bangladesh close in on maiden win
09 Jan 05 |  International Teams
Dogged Taibu battles Bangladesh
08 Jan 05 |  International Teams
Bangladesh build strong platform
07 Jan 05 |  International Teams
Bashar leads way for Bangladesh
06 Jan 05 |  International Teams

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport