Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 19 December, 2004, 11:22 GMT
Brave Ashraful fights lone cause
Second Test, Chittagong, day three (stumps): India 540; Bangladesh 333 & 118-9 (following on)

Mohammad Ashraful
Ashraful thrilled the home fans with his century in Chittagong

Mohammad Ashraful struck 158, the best score by a Bangladesh batsman in their four-year Test history, but India were poised for victory in Chittagong.

At stumps on day three, Bangladesh were 118-9. After being bowled out for 333 in their first innings they were asked to follow on 207 runs behind.

Ashraful hit 24 boundaries and three sixes in his 194-ball innings.

It was his second century for his country, his first coming on debut at the age of just 16.

Bangladesh began the day on 54-3 in reply to India's 540.

Habibul Bashar and Aftab Ahmed added 70 for the fourth wicket before captain Bashar was stumped for 22, giving Anil Kumble the third of four wickets in the innings.

Indians pay their respect to Vijay Hazare
Respects were paid to the late former Indian captain Vijay Hazare

Aftab Ahmed, playing only his second Test, added 115 for the fifth wicket in 26 overs with Ashraful.

Only one other batsman gave Ashraful meaningful support after Ahmed - Khaled Mashud, who made 22 off 44 balls.

Sourav Ganguly's decision to enforce the follow-on once Ashraful had run out of partners paid instant dividends.

Nafis Iqbal fell lbw to the first ball of the second innings, giving Irfan Pathan the first of five wickets.

Wickets kept coming and by the 22nd over some disgraceful batting from the hosts saw them at 84-9, Ashraful failing on this occasion.

It was left to number 11 Talha Jubair to hit five boundaries and top the scoring with 25 before he and Nazmul Hossain accepted the offer of light.

India: Sourav Ganguly (c), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan.

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar (c), Khaled Mashud, Nafis Iqbal, Javed Omar, Mohammad Ashraful, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Rafique, Mashrafe Mortaza, Talha Jubair, Manjural Islam Rana, Nazmul Hossain.

India achieve commanding position
18 Dec 04 |  Other International
India batsmen make Tigers suffer
18 Dec 04 |  Other International

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport