BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 05:52 GMT, Saturday, 18 December 2010

Stuart Broad and Steven Finn in England World Cup squad

Stuart Broad
England will be a much-weakened force if Broad is unfit for the World Cup

Fast bowlers Stuart Broad and Steven Finn have been named in England's preliminary 30-man squad for the 2011 World Cup on the sub-continent.

Broad is hoping to be fit in time after the abdominal injury which ended his Ashes series, while Finn has yet to play a limited-overs match for England.

The Middlesex youngster has, however, become a vital member of the Test team.

There are five uncapped players - Jade Dernbach, Chris Woakes, Darren Stevens, Jimmy Adams and James Hildreth.

Test wicketkeeper Matt Prior is one of three glovemen in the party along with in-form opener Alastair Cook.

There is also a return to the reckoning for Nottinghamshire all-rounder Samit Patel, long discarded after qualms about his general fitness.

National selector Geoff Miller said: "Samit Patel has also been included in this preliminary squad and - along with every other player named - will be required to meet individual fitness criteria before the squad is finalised.

"There is still some time to pass before the final squad is selected, so all 30 players have sufficient time to press for selection."

England are drawn in a group alongside Bangladesh, India, Ireland, Netherlands, South Africa and West Indies.

They will play two warm-up games against Canada and Pakistan before beginning their World Cup campaign on February 22 against Netherlands in Nagpur.

Squad: Andrew Strauss (Middlesex, captain), James Adams (Hampshire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Davies (Surrey), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), James Hildreth (Somerset), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Michael Lumb (Hampshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Liam Plunkett (Durham), Matt Prior (Sussex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire), Darren Stevens (Kent), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Tremlett (Surrey), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex), Michael Yardy (Sussex).

Print Sponsor

see also
Injured Broad ruled out of Ashes
07 Dec 10 |  Cricket
Cricket World Cup 2011
09 Mar 11 |  Cricket
Cricket World Cup 2011 squads
19 Jan 11 |  Cricket
Live cricket on the BBC
26 Oct 11 |  Cricket
Cricket World Cup 2007
01 May 07 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites