BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 23:56 GMT, Thursday, 4 February 2010

Australia reveal England's full Ashes tour schedule

The Melbourne Cricket Ground, traditional home of the Boxing Day Test
England will play a Test, a Twenty20 game and an ODI in Melbourne

Australia have confirmed the full schedule for England's 2010-11 Ashes tour, which includes three warm-up games and seven one-day internationals.

The tourists begin with three-day warm-up matches against Western Australia, South Australia and Australia A.

After the Ashes Tests, for which the dates had already been announced, England will face the Aussies in two Twenty20 games and seven one-dayers.

England lost 5-0 in the Tests on their last visit to Australia in 2006-07.

On that occasion, they lost their first one-day warm-up game to a Prime Minister's XI, before drawing three-day games against New South Wales and South Australia - and received some criticism for the lack of competitive opposition in the lead-up to the first Test.

Once more, England will face a World Cup immediately after touring Australia. The final one-dayer in Australia is on 6 February 2011, 11 days before the World Cup opening ceremony in Dhaka, Bangladesh.


England would have a further five days to prepare for their first fixture, a match-up with Netherlands in Nagpur, India.

Australia will also host Sri Lanka in a Twenty20 international and three ODIs before England's arrival. They will effectively be on the go from 31 October until the end of the World Cup - and some Australian players will not necessarily be thrilled at the heavy workload.

Captain Ricky Ponting has previously argued that seven-match one-day series are too long, but James Sutherland, Cricket Australia's chief executive, said the team would have some "great preparation" for the World Cup.

Sutherland went on: "We have a very strong focus on retaining our position as the number one ranked one-day team in the world. A World Cup win would make it four titles in a row."

England's 2010/11 tour of Australia:

5-7 November v Western Australia, Perth

11-13 November v South Australia, Adelaide

17-20 November v Australia A, Hobart

25-29 November 1st Test, Brisbane

3-7 December 2nd Test, Adelaide

10-12 December v Victoria, Melbourne

16-20 December 3rd Test, Perth

26-30 December 4th Test, Melbourne

3-7 January 5th Test, Sydney

10 January v Prime Minister's XI, Canberra

12 January 1st Twenty20 international, Adelaide

14 January 2nd Twenty20 international, Melbourne

16 January 1st ODI, Melbourne

21 January 2nd ODI, Hobart

23 January 3rd ODI, Sydney

26 January 4th ODI, Adelaide

30 January 5th ODI, Brisbane

2 February 6th ODI, Sydney

6 February 7th ODI, Perth

Print Sponsor

see also
England in Australia 2010-11
08 Oct 09 |  Cricket
Ashes dates for 2010-11 announced
07 Oct 09 |  England
England in Australia 2006/07
05 Jan 07 |  England

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites