BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:59 GMT, Friday, 24 July 2009 11:59 UK

Pietersen named in Trophy squad

Kevin Pietersen
Pietersen has scored seven centuries in his 92 one-day internationals.

England have named injured batsman Kevin Pietersen in a provisional 30-man squad for the Champions Trophy taking place in South Africa this September.

The 29-year-old has been ruled out for the remainder of the Ashes because of an Achilles problem and there is no clear indication when he might return.

Michael Lumb and Joe Denly are the only uncapped players in the squad.

James Foster and Steven Davies are the wicketkeepers chosen as back-up to Matt Prior for the 50-over competition.

South African-born Lumb, 29, joined Hants from Yorkshire for the 2007 season and impressed in scoring 76 in the FP Trophy semi-final victory against Lancashire.

Kent opener Denly has played for England Lions, but has yet to play for a full England team having been cut from the initial 30-man squad for June's World Twenty20.

The squad will be reduced to 15 by 23 August and National Selector Geoff Miller believes the players chosen for the tournament can challenge the leading sides.

"The ICC Champions Trophy is an opportunity for the England One-Day side to compete for a global trophy and we are confident we have the talent to make a strong claim," he said.

"We have an exciting blend of youth and experience in this preliminary squad and we'll continue to watch the limited overs form of all players involved over the coming month.

"With the exception of Michael Lumb, who has been in excellent form for his county this year, each member of this preliminary squad has experienced playing for England on the international stage.

"It is pleasing to see such genuine competition for places as we look to half the squad later next month."

England provisional squad: Andrew Strauss (Middlesex), James Anderson (Lancashire), Gareth Batty (Worcestershire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Davies (Worcestershire), Joe Denly (Kent), Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire), James Foster (Essex), Stephen Harmison (Durham), Ed Joyce (Sussex), Robert Key (Kent), Michael Lumb (Hampshire), Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire), Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Graham Napier (Essex), Graham Onions (Durham), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire), Matt Prior(Sussex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Owais Shah (Middlesex), Ryan Sidebottom(Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex).

Print Sponsor

see also
England without Pietersen
22 Jul 09 |  England
I can complete series - Flintoff
21 Jul 09 |  England
Pietersen blames form on injury
19 Jul 09 |  England
Injury progress lifts Pietersen
25 Jun 09 |  Cricket
Flintoff inspires England victory
20 Jul 09 |  England
ICC Champions Trophy 2009 squads
25 Aug 09 |  Cricket
ICC Champions Trophy 2009
05 Oct 09 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.