Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 26 October 2005, 15:44 GMT 16:44 UK
England's past in Pakistan
2000: England won 1-0
Captain Nasser Hussain's intense, uncompromising style of leadership was at the heart of England's first series triumph in Pakistan since 1961-62.

1987: Pakistan won 1-0
A series which provided some absorbing Test cricket will always be remembered for England captain Mike Gatting's bust-up with umpire Shakoor Rana.

1984: Pakistan won 1-0
Captain Bob Willis only played in the opening match, which Pakistan won by three wickets, and his absence due to illness meant England were also deprived of their senior strike bowler.

1977/78: Series drawn
Limited-overs internationals were included in England's itinerary for the first time in Pakistan as Mike Brearley brought his Ashes-winners to visit but the three Tests all ended in draws.

1973: Series drawn
Dennis Amiss scored 112 on the opening day at Lahore but England could not force a result in any of the three Tests, following a long tour of India.

1969: Series drawn
England returned to Pakistan after an absence of seven years but the series proved a disappointing stalemate with all three Tests ending in draws.

1961/62: England won 1-0
Ted Dexter replaced Peter May as captain and the tour proved a personal triumph as he led England to victory and topped the Test batting averages.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport