BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 14:47 GMT, Monday, 25 October 2010 15:47 UK

Captain Andrew Gale leads Yorkshire re-signings

Yorkshire captain Andrew Gale
Gale has spent his entire career to date with his home county

Nine current Yorkshire players have signed new contracts with the club, including captain Andrew Gale.

Gale, Tim Bresnan, Richard Pyrah, Adam Lyth, Jonathan Bairstow, Oliver Hannon-Dalby and Steve Patterson have all signed three-year contracts.

Batsmen Anthony McGrath and Joe Sayers have signed deals until 2012.

Director of professional cricket Martyn Moxon said: "To have so many players committing their future to the club this early in the winter is excellent."

Yorkshire enjoyed an excellent year under Gale's leadership in the county championship, winning six games to finish third behind Nottinghamshire and Somerset.

Earlier this month they announced the signing of former England seamer Ryan Sidebottom from Notts on a three year deal.

Of the players signing new contracts, only McGrath is older than 27.

Opener Lyth scored over 1,500 championship runs, and was named PCA Young Cricketer of the Year.

In addition, youngsters Moin Ashraf (18) and Gurman Randhawa (18) have signed their first professional contracts at the Club.

Seam bowler Moin enjoyed the end of the season when he celebrated playing his first two LV= County Championship matches by taking his first five wicket haul (5-32) against Kent in the last fixture.

Gurman was named Yorkshire Academy Player of the Year for the second year running.

Print Sponsor


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.