BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:09 GMT, Tuesday, 14 December 2010

ECB releases 2011 county fixtures

Nottinghamshire won the County Championship on the final day of last season

Nottinghamshire will begin the defence of their County Championship title at home to Hampshire on 14 April.

The champions open the season with the traditional game against the MCC, which is again being held in Abu Dhabi, with the Championship beginning on 8 April.

Next year may be the last Championship played by two divisions of nine teams, as counties are likely to opt for an eight-team top flight in 2012.

The CB 40 begins on 24 April, with the FP t20 getting under way on 1 June.

Defending CB 40 champions Warwickshire begin their quest to retain the trophy away at Hampshire, while beaten finalists Somerset are at Notts.

In the FP t20, which is again split into two geographical groups of nine teams for the early stages, holders Hampshire welcome Somerset to The Rose Bowl on the opening day in a repeat of last season's final.

The final of the CB 40 will be held at Lord's on 17 September, while FP t20 finals day will take place at Edgbaston on 27 August.

After Notts open the first-class season against the MCC on 27 March, several counties will warm-up for the new campaign against university sides on 2 April.


The opening round of Championship fixtures sees Division Two champions Sussex return to the top flight with a trip to Lancashire, while elsewhere in Division One, promoted Worcestershire host Yorkshire and Durham make the long trip to Hampshire.

In the second tier, relegated pair Essex and Kent meet at Chelmsford, while Leicestershire entertain Glamorgan, Derbyshire travel to Gloucestershire and Surrey welcome Northants.

On their return from Abu Dhabi, Notts get their campaign under way in the second round of matches, which is when last season's runners-up Somerset begin their season by hosting Warwickshire.

The summer schedule also includes fixtures against touring sides Sri Lanka, India and India A, with the final round of County Championship matches beginning on 12 September.


Northern division: Derbyshire, Durham, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Northants, Nottinghamshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Yorkshire

Southern division: Essex, Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Middlesex, Somerset, Surrey, Sussex


Group A: Derbyshire, Middlesex, Worcestershire, Sussex, Yorkshire, Kent, Netherlands.

Group B: Hampshire, Durham, Northants, Warwickshire, Surrey, Leicestershire, Scotland.

Group C: Nottinghamshire, Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Essex, Somerset, Lancashire, Unicorns.

Print Sponsor

see also
County ins & outs 2011
27 Sep 11 |  Counties
Abu Dhabi to host MCC match again
02 Dec 10 |  Cricket
Counties learn 2011 CB40 groups
02 Nov 10 |  Counties
County changes put off until 2012
21 Oct 10 |  Counties
Bears beat Somerset in CB40 final
18 Sep 10 |  Counties
Notts sneak title from Somerset
16 Sep 10 |  Counties
Hants win thrilling T20 showdown
14 Aug 10 |  Counties

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.