BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 22:03 GMT, Thursday, 23 September 2010 23:03 UK

Warwickshire's Neil Carter is PCA player of the year

Warwickshire's Neil Carter at the awards ceremony
Carter helped Warwickshire to the domestic 40-over title at Lord's

Warwickshire's Neil Carter has been named as the Professional Cricketers Association's Player of the Year.

South Africa-born Carter, 35, scored 617 runs and took 51 wickets in the County Championship to help his team retain their place in Division One.

He also helped the Bears win the Clydesdale Bank 40 trophy and reach the Friends Provident t20 quarter-finals.

Yorkshire's Adam Lyth picked up the Young Player of the Year award after scoring over 2,000 runs in all cricket.

The 22-year-old was the first player to pass 1,000 first-class runs in the county season, and finished as the top run-scorer in Division One of the Championship with 1,509.

Spinner Graeme Swann, nominated for the International Cricket Council's Cricketer of the Year award, was named as England's Player of the Summer and picked for the team of the year, while batsman Eoin Morgan was honoured for his form in one-day cricket.

Yorkshire duo Adil Rashid and Jacques Rudolph, and Northants' veteran Sri Lanka star Chaminda Vaas were chosen as the best players in the three domestic county competitions.

Former winners of the Player of the Year award include Marcus Trescothick (2009), Martin van Jaarsveld (2008), Ottis Gibson (2007) and Mark Ramprakash (2006).

2010 PCA awards:

Player of the Year: Neil Carter (Warwickshire)

Young Player of the Year: Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)

England Player of the Summer: Graeme Swann

One-day international Player of the Year: Eoin Morgan

County Championship Player of the Year: Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Friends Provident t20 Player of the Year: Chaminda Vaas (Northants)

Clydesdale Bank 40 Player of the Year: Jacques Rudolph (Yorkshire)

ECB Special Award: Johnny Dennis

Special Merit Award: Peter Walker

Sixes League: Ryan ten Doeschate (Essex)

Impossible is Nothing Award: Josh Mierkalns

Team of the Year 2010: James Adams (Hampshire), Marcus Trescothick (Somerset, capt), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire & England), James Hildreth (Somerset), Darren Stevens (Kent), Steven Davies (Surrey & England, wk), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire & England), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire & England), Neil Carter (Warwickshire), Alfonso Thomas (Somerset).

Best one-day team of the last 30 years: Graham Gooch (England), Adam Gilchrist (Australia, wk), Sir Viv Richards (West Indies), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Brian Lara (West Indies), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Andrew Flintoff (England), Shane Warne (Australia, capt), Malcolm Marshall (West Indies), Joel Garner (West Indies), Glenn McGrath (Australia).

Print Sponsor

FTI Most Valuable Player rankings
22 September 2010 23:37
1 Carter Warwickshire 647.45
2 Rashid Yorkshire 600.2
3 Thomas Somerset 578.4
4 Trescothick Somerset 573.02
5 Patel Nottinghamshire 568.4
6 Woakes Warwickshire 557.26
7 Ervine Hampshire 551.48
8 Stevens Kent 543.17
9 Franklin Gloucestershire 541.06
10 Adams Hampshire 536.9

Links go through to more detailed information from the PCA. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites

see also
Swann shortlisted for ICC award
20 Sep 10 |  Cricket
Carter keen to extend Bears stay
02 Sep 10 |  Warwickshire
Trescothick wins players' award
08 Oct 09 |  Cricket
Van Jaarsveld takes top PCA award
29 Sep 08 |  Counties
Gibson scoops two county awards
24 Sep 07 |  Counties
Ramprakash takes top player award
25 Sep 06 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites