BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:13 GMT, Thursday, 25 September 2008 12:13 UK

Warwickshire claim title triumph

COUNTY CHAMPIONSHIP DIVISION TWO, Edgbaston (day two, close):
Warwickshire 315 & 55-3 v Glamorgan 193

Warwickshire sealed the Division Two title on the second day against Glamorgan, closing 177 ahead at 55-3.

Resuming their first innings on 270-7, they earned another batting point as Neil Carter helped them compile 315.

Though England wicketkeeper Tim Ambrose failed to add to his overnight score of 86, Carter hit a total of 12 fours and a six in an attacking 63 from 59 balls.

Chris Woakes claimed the decisive bonus point in a career-best 6-68, Jamie Dalrymple with 92 in Glamorgan's 193.

Ambrose was removed by Adam Shantry, who took a Championship-best 5-77 against his former county.

Carter hit four successive fours off former Australia paceman Jason Gillespie before Woakes exploited some helpful conditions when the Bears came to bowl.

Gareth Rees was caught low at cover and England Under-19 seamer Woakes removed Tom Maynard and Powell in four balls in his fifth over.

Dalrymple finally found some support from Robert Croft in a partnership of 106, which would have been substantially smaller had umpire Graham Burgess not rescinded an lbw decision against Croft on consulting with square-leg colleague, Jeremy Lloyds.

Woakes captured the last two wickets in successive overs, but Gillespie's second ball saw Darren Maddy caught at second slip when Warwickshire began their second innings.

see also
Bears close on Division Two title
24 Sep 08 |  Counties

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites