BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

County ins and outs 2008

Stay up-to-date with the latest player releases, signings and speculation from all the counties.

KPK: Kolpak contract, REL: released, RET: retired, YTH: from youth teams, UKP: recently-obtained UK passport. Also shows, where relevant, players' previous counties

Kolpak contracts are signed by foreign players, using a loophole in European Union law to avoid counting against the quota of one overseas player per club.

Have we missed anyone? Please let us know


Overseas player: Chris Rogers (Australia)

Ins*: Rikki Clarke (Surrey), Nayan Doshi (Surrey), John Sadler (Leics), Dominic Telo (SA, holds EU passport), Wavell Hinds (KPK), Charl Langeveldt (KPK)

Outs: Chris Taylor (Yorkshire), Hassan Adnan (REL), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Phil Weston (RET), Rikki Clarke (Warwickshire, in September)

* ECB originally refused registration for Hinds as a Kolpak player; he then signed as an overseas player for the Twenty20 Cup; and he was subsequently granted Kolpak status


Overseas player: Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies, from July); Neil McKenzie (SA, April to start of Twenty20 Cup); Albie Morkel (SA, for Twenty20 Cup)

Ins: Mark Stoneman (YTH), Luke Evans (YTH)

Outs: Ottis Gibson (RET)


Overseas player: Danish Kaneria (Pakistan)

Ins: David Masters (Leics), Jason Gallian (Notts), Chris Wright (Middlesex), John Maunders (Shropshire)

Outs: Andrew McGarry (REL), Darren Thomas (RET)


Overseas player: Jason Gillespie (Australia, to start of Twenty20 Cup); Herschelle Gibbs (SA, for Twenty20 Cup)

Ins: Jamie Dalrymple (Middlesex), Adam Shantry (Warwicks), Matthew Wood (Yorkshire)

Outs: Dan Cherry (REL), Simon Jones (Worcs), Nicky Peng (RET), Andrew Davies (RET)


Overseas player: Marcus North (Australia, until late August), Brendan Drew (Australia, short-term deal from 27 August), Rob Woodman

Ins: William Porterfield (Ire), Richard Dawson, Ian Saxelby (Nottinghamshire), Robert Woodman

Outs: None


Overseas player: Shane Bond (NZ, April to start of Twenty20 Cup); Ian Harvey (Aus, for Twenty20 Cup); Imran Tahir (Pakistan, July to end of season)

Ins: Nantie Hayward (KPK), Rory Kleinveldt (KPK)

Outs: Shaun Udal (Middlesex), James Bruce (RET), Mitchell Stokes (REL), Shane Warne (Australia)


Overseas player: Yasir Arafat (Pakistan)

Ins*: Azhar Mahmood (Surrey & UKP), Justin Kemp (KPK)*

Outs: Andrew Hall (Northants), Min Patel (RET)

* ECB initially refused registration for Kemp, but he was cleared to play on appeal


Overseas player: Mohammad Yousuf (Pakistan, until early June); Lou Vincent (NZ; from June)

Ins: Francois du Plessis (KPK), Stephen Cheetham (YTH)

Outs: Iain Sutcliffe (RET)


Overseas player: Boeta Dippenaar (SA)

Ins: Garnett Kruger (KPK), Joel Pope (YTH), James Taylor (YTH), Nadeem Malik (Worcs), Jermaine Lawson (WI & KPK), Dillon Du Preez (SA & KPK), Jacques Du Toit

Outs: Stuart Broad (Notts), David Masters (Essex), Darren Robinson (REL), John Maunders (REL), Arno Jacobs (REL), Marc Rosenberg (REL), David Stiff (REL), John Sadler (Derbyshire), Paul Harrison (REL), Nick Walker (REL), Jeremy Snape (RET)


Overseas player: Murali Kartik (India), Vernon Philander (SA - from April to June)

Ins: Shaun Udal (Hants), Gareth Berg (Northants), Dirk Nannes (Australia, holds Dutch passport), Tyron Henderson (KPK), Mark Lawson (Yorkshire, loan)

Outs: Chris Wright (Essex), Richard Johnson (RET), Ben Hutton (RET), Chris Whelan (Worcs), Jamie Dalrymple (Glamorgan), Chad Keegan (REL)


Overseas player: Johann Louw (SA)

Ins: Nicky Boje (KPK) , Andrew Hall (KPK)*, Johan van der Wath (KPK)*

Outs: Usman Afzaal (Surrey), Richard Dawson (REL)

* ECB initially refused registration for Hall and van der Wath, but they were cleared to play on appeal


Overseas player: Adam Voges (Australia), Ashwell Prince (SA, for final six weeks of season)

Ins: Stuart Broad (Leics), Matthew Wood (Somerset), Alex Hales (YTH), Luke Fletcher (YTH), Andy Carter (Lincolnshire), Darren Pattinson, Chris Cairns (NZ, holds Dutch passport), Andre Adams (KPK)

Outs: Jason Gallian (Essex), Gareth Clough, Ian Saxelby (Gloucestershire)


Overseas player: Justin Langer (Australia)

Ins: Omari Banks (Anguilla, UK), Andy Sutton (YTH), Alfonso Thomas (KPK), Zander de Bruyn (KPK)

Outs: Gareth Andrew (Worcs), Matthew Wood (Notts)


Overseas player: Matt Nicholson (Australia, until September); Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan, for Twenty20 Cup only); Shoaib Akhtar (Pakistan, September)

Ins: Pedro Collins (KPK), Usman Afzaal (Northants), Saqlain Mushtaq (Sussex), Simon King (YTH), Laurie Evans (YTH), Robert Frylinck (KPK)

Outs: Rikki Clarke (Derbyshire), Ian Salisbury (Warwicks), Rory Hamilton-Brown (Sussex), Mohammad Akram (REL)


Overseas player*: Mushtaq Ahmed (Pakistan); Dwayne Smith (West Indies, see note below); Mohammad Sami (Pakistan, for September)

Ins*: Rageb Aga (UKP), Rory Hamilton-Brown (Surrey), Will Beer (YTH), Ben Brown (YTH), Michael Thornely (YTH), Corey Collymore (KPK), Dwayne Smith (KPK)

Outs: Richard Montgomerie (RET), Saqlain Mushtaq (Surrey) Rana Naved-ul-Hasan (Yorks)

*Smith originally joined Sussex as an overseas player, replacing Mushtaq Ahmed for the duration of the Twenty20 Cup. He subsequently returned to the county as a Kolpak player on a two-and-a-half-year deal


Overseas player: Monde Zondeki (SA), Chris Martin (NZ)

Ins: Boyd Rankin (Derbyshire), Ian Salisbury (Surrey), Richard Johnson (YTH), Calum Macleod (YTH), Tony Frost, Rikki Clarke (Derbyshire, in September)

Outs: Heath Streak (RET), Alex Loudon (RET), Adam Shantry (Glamorgan), Michael Barnes (REL), Vaughn van Jaarsveld (Gauteng, South Africa)


Overseas player: Steve Magoffin (Australia, until July), Imran Arif (Pakistan, July until September), Dilhara Fernando (Sri Lanka, for September)

Ins: Gareth Andrew (Somerset), Simon Jones (Glamorgan), Chris Whelan (Middlesex), Mehraj Ahmed (YTH)

Outs: Roger Sillence (REL), Dewald Nel (REL), Stewart Wedge (REL), Ray Price (Zimbabwe), Nadeem Malik (Leics), Shaftab Khalid (REL)


Overseas player: Rana Naved-ul-Hasan (Pakistan & Sussex), Morne Morkel (SA, early part of season only)

Ins: Chris Taylor (Derbyshire), Gary Ballance (Derbyshire)

Outs: Nick Thornicroft (REL), Chris Gilbert (REL), Matthew Wood (Glamorgan), Mark Lawson (Yorkshire, loan)

Print Sponsor


related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.