Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 6 August, 2003, 17:23 GMT 18:23 UK
Stars line up for city cricket
Aravinda de Silva
Aravinda De Silva captains the Colombo side
Twenty-four current and former internationals will take part in a six-a-side tournament between all-star city teams at Hove on Friday.

The Zone6 City Cricket tournament features teams from Colombo and Cape Town, as well as English sides from London Birmingham and Leeds, plus home team Brighton.

Former Zimbabwe batsmen Andy Flower and Murray Goodwin turn out for the hosts, Aravinda de Silva and Muttiah Muralitharan play for Colombo and Darryl Cullinan skippers the South African side.

A forerunner of the Twenty20 Cup, which proved a resounding success this summer, the tournament is in its third year and features new rules this time around.

The boundary is divided into zones where a traditional four scores eight, and a traditional six scores 12. Each innings is limited to eight overs.

Selected players will be equipped with mini-microphones and earpieces to provide insight while the game is in progress.

"Zone6 City Cricket is truly a star-studded affair," said Richard Bevan, chief executive of organisers the Professional Cricketers' Association.

"The likes of Muttiah Muralitharan will ensure top quality entertainment. We will be watching a large number of current Test players playing a very entertaining version of the game."

Teams include:

Brighton: Andy Flower (captain), Murray Goodwin, Richard Montgomerie, Robin Martin-Jenkins, Matthew Prior (wkt), Ed Giddins, Ian Blackwell, Mushtaq Ahmed.

London : Adam Hollioake (captain), Alistair Brown, Jonathan Batty (wkt), Owais Shah, Matthew Walker, David Masters, Joe Dawes.

Colombo : Aravinda de Silva (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan, Kumar Sangakarra (wkt), Chaminda Vaas, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chandika Hathurusingha, Mario Villavarayan, Jeevantha Kulatunga.

Cape Town : Daryll Cullinan (captain), Trevor Penney, Trevor Gripper, Jonathan Trott, Martin van Jaarsveld, Ant Botha, Gerald Brophy (wkt), Mark Davis.

Birmingham : Dougie Brown (captain), Jim Troughton, Neil Carter, Waqar Younis, Paul Nixon (wkt), Usman Afzaal, Charlie Dagnall.

Leeds : Craig White (captain), Paul Franks, Nicky Peng, Danny Law, Chris Lewis, Gordon Muchall, Philip Mustard (wkt), Gary Pratt.

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport