Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 24 June, 2003, 19:23 GMT 20:23 UK
Foxes reach Twenty20 semis
Twenty20 Cup, Grace Road: Leicestershire 171-8 (20 overs) beat Derbyshire 170-9 (20 overs) by one run

Leicestershire clinched a Twenty20 Cup semi-final spot with a thrilling but controversial one-run win over local rivals Derbyshire at Grace Road.

Set 172 to win, the visitors stayed in the hunt thanks to a half-century from Mohammed Kaif and 43 from Chris Bassano.

But controversy erupted when Steven Selwood was caught on the boundary by Leicestershire's Australian all-rounder Brad Hodge in the 19th over to leave Derbyshire at 153-8.

I am sorry that Derbyshire feel they had a case, but we have ruled they haven't and Leicestershire are declared the winners
ECB chief executive Tim Lamb

Visiting coach Adrian Pierson led angry protests, claiming Hodge had stepped over the boundary rope and that it should have been a six, but umpire Roy Palmer allowed the wicket to stand.

Needing a six off the final ball of the match, tailender Neil Gunter could only manage four.

And, as their hosts celebrated, the Scorpions discovered that they had been eliminated from the competition.

Warwickshire's 54-run win over Northants gained the Bears the final qualification place as best runners-up.

Afterwards Derbyshire made an official approach, asking for the result of the match to be overturned but officials at the England and Wales Cricket Board turned the appeal down.

Asked to bowl first, Derbyshire took wickets at regular intervals, but Leicestershire's lower order all contributed to keep the tempo high despite their parlous state.

Brad Hodge top-scored with 37 from 30 deliveries before he was caught pulling Nathan Dumelow to deep square leg.

Dominic Hewson took his wicket haul for the competition to 10 with the scalps of Phil DeFreitas, Trevor Ward and Paul Nixon.

But wicket-keeper Nixon's 27 from 13 balls proved to be the deciding factor.

DeFreitas' experience gained him two crucial wickets at the death for figures of 3-39.

Leicestershire: V Sehwag, P A J DeFreitas (Capt), B J Hodge, D I Stevens, D L Maddy, P A Nixon (Wkt), J N Snape, T R Ward, D G Brandy, D D Masters, J O Grove.

Derbyshire: M J Di Venuto, D G Cork (Capt), N R C Dumelow, M Kaif, K M Krikken (Wkt), C W G Bassano, D R Hewson, S A Selwood, G Welch, T Lungley, N E L Gunter.



E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport