BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 04:50 GMT, Sunday, 26 December 2010

Tim Southee hat-trick as New Zealand beat Pakistan

First Twenty20 international, Auckland: New Zealand 146-5 (17.1 overs) beat Pakistan 143-9 by five wickets
Match scorecard

Tim Southee
Pakistan were unable to deal with Southee in Auckland

Tim Southee took a hat-trick as New Zealand beat Pakistan by five wickets in the first Twenty20 international.

Southee's five wickets came in the space of only eight balls, finishing with 5-18 - the first five-wicket haul by a New Zealander in the format.

The Kiwis held Pakistan to 143-9 after winning the toss in Auckland.

Martin Guptill then hit four sixes in striking 54 off 29 balls as the Black Caps galloped to victory, reaching their target with 17 balls to spare.

Pakistan had made a good start to their innings reaching 58-1 before Southee's devastating spell changed the course of the game.

Shahid Afridi had already fallen for a 12-ball 20 before Southee dismissed Ahmed Shehzad with the last ball of his first over.

The hat-trick came in his next over. Southee had Younis Khan (2) caught in the deep by debutant Dean Brownlie, Mohammad Hafeez (24) caught behind by Peter McGlashan and Umar Akmal (0) trapped leg before wicket with his next delivery as Pakistan slumped to 62-5.

That became 68-6 when Abdul Razzaq nicked a Southee delivery to McGlashan to complete a remarkable spell of bowling.

Umar Gul and Wahab Riaz top scored with 30 apiece to stabilise the Pakistan innings.

Shoaib Akhtar took the first three New Zealand wickets to fall, but Guptill's blistering attack put the home side into the ascendancy.

Guptill was run out for 54, to leave the Black Caps on 91-4 and give the tourists a glimmer of hope.

However, stand-in captain Ross Taylor's slightly more patient 39 not out, off 31 balls, ensured the home side ended their 11-match losing run.

Print Sponsor

see also
Wright named as New Zealand coach
20 Dec 10 |  Cricket
Pakistan and S Africa draw series
24 Nov 10 |  Cricket

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.