BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:49 GMT, Monday, 20 September 2010 13:49 UK

Graeme Swann nominated for ICC Cricketer of Year award

Graeme Swann
Swann is on a shortlist of four to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

England spin bowler Graeme Swann has made the shortlist for the International Cricket Council's Cricketer of the Year award.

The off-spinner was not originally nominated, despite taking 49 wickets in Tests and 28 in one-day internationals.

But he is now in the running for the honour, along with Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar and Hashim Amla.

Steven Finn and Katherine Brunt are the other England players to be among the nominees for the awards on 6 October.

Swann was belatedly added to the list of contenders in August with ICC chairman Clive Lloyd telling BBC Sport the 31-year-old's omission had been an "oversight" by the independent 25-person academy which complies the nominations.

The Nottinghamshire player was on the original nominations list in the Test Player of the Year category but did not make the shortlist which features Sehwag, Tendulkar, Amla and South Africa bowler Dale Steyn.

Swann has already won the England and Wales Cricket Board's Men's Cricketer of the Year award, which is selected by the British media.


Steven Finn is in contention for the Emerging Player of the Year award with Umar Akmal of Pakistan, Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews and Australia's Tim Paine. To qualify, a player must be under the age of 26 and have played fewer than five Tests and or ten one-day internationals at the start of the voting period.

Netherlands and Essex all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate is on the shortlist for the Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year prize, a trophy he won in 2008.

Brunt is on the list for the Women's Cricketer of the Year award and will be hoping to add to the ECB Women's Cricketer of the Year award she won in May.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Bengaluru on 6 October.

ICC Awards 2010

Short-lists of nominees (in alphabetical order)

Individual Awards

Cricketer of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

Test Player of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

ODI Player of the Year
Ryan Harris (Aus)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Shane Watson (Aus)

Emerging Player
Umar Akmal (Pak)
Steven Finn (Eng)
Angelo Mathews (SL)
Tim Paine (Aus)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year
Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned)
Trent Johnson (Ire)
Kevin O'Brien (Ire)
Mohammed Shahzad (Afg)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Michael Hussey (Aus) for his 60 not out in 24 balls against Pakistan in the semi-final of the ICC World Twenty20 2010 in St Lucia on 14 May

Mahela Jayawardena (SL) for his 100 in 64 balls against Zimbabwe in Guyana on 3 May and his 98 not out in 56 balls against West Indies in Bridgetown on 7 May 2010 both during the ICC World Twenty20 2010

Ryan McLaren (SA) for taking 5-19 against the West Indies on 19 May in Antigua

Brendon McCullum (NZ) for his striking of 116 not out in 56 balls against Australia in Christchurch, New Zealand on 28 February

Women's Cricketer of the Year
Katherine Brunt (Eng)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Ellyse Perry (Aus)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Umpire of the Year
Aleem Dar
Steve Davis
Tony Hill
Simon Taufel

Spirit of Cricket
New Zealand
Sri Lanka

Print Sponsor

see also
Swann added to top cricketer list
19 Aug 10 |  Cricket
Swann named cricketer of the year
24 May 10 |  England

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites