BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 13:29 GMT, Tuesday, 23 March 2010

MCC call up Lewis, Murtagh and Cosker for Durham game

Gloucestershire seamer Jon Lewis
Lewis has taken 678 first-class wickets in his 15-year career

Seamers Jon Lewis and Tim Murtagh have been called into the MCC squad for their game with Durham as replacements for Steven Finn and Chris Tremlett.

Finn is to be rested after his part in England's tour of Bangladesh, while Tremlett has been withdrawn at the request of his county, Surrey.

Glamorgan's Dean Cosker has also been added to the squad as an extra spin-bowling option.

The game is being played in Abu Dhabi under floodlights and with a pink ball.

The fixture, where the MCC take on the previous year's county champions, is the traditional curtain-raiser to the English domestic season and usually takes place at Lord's.

I'm looking forward to see how the pink ball will behave under lights, and how these top players will react to it

John Stephenson

"Playing with the pink ball and under lights is a fascinating prospect and I'm eager to learn more about the pink ball and how it behaves," said Gloucestershire paceman Lewis.

"It will be extremely useful, high quality match practice ahead of the championship season.

"I'm really pleased and excited to get this opportunity to play for MCC in Abu Dhabi."

MCC head of cricket John Stephenson added: "I'm glad to have been able to call on the services of three such experienced bowlers for what will be an important step in researching pink balls and floodlit first-class cricket.

"The preparations are now in their final stages and all efforts are being directed towards making this a match worthy of its historical setting.

"I'm looking forward to see how the pink ball will behave under lights, and how these top players will react to it."

Lewis has played one Test and 13 one-day internationals for England, while Middlesex's Murtagh has taken 242 first-class wickets in 82 matches.

MCC (from): Alex Gidman (captain, Gloucestershire), Scott Newman (Middlesex), Mark Ramprakash (Surrey), David Sales (Northamptonshire), Dawid Malan (Middlesex), James Taylor (Leicestershire), James Foster (wkt, Essex), James Middlebrook (Northamptonshire), Steve Kirby (Gloucestershire), Jon Lewis (Gloucestershire), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Dean Cosker (Glamorgan)

Print Sponsor


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.