BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 18:14 GMT, Thursday, 18 February 2010

South Africa skipper Smith to miss India one-dayers

Graeme Smith (left) with his replacement Hashim Amla
Smith (left) will be replaced in the squad by Hashim Amla (right)

South Africa captain Graeme Smith has been ruled out of the forthcoming one-day international series against India because of a fractured finger.

Smith, whose side lost the second Test in Kolkata on Thursday, will fly home and has been advised to rest.

His place in the squad goes to in-form batsman Hashim Amla, who averaged an incredible 490 in the two-Test series.

Jacques Kallis will lead the Proteas in the three-game one-day series, which begins in Jaipur on Sunday.

Smith, who picked up the injury in fielding practice before the second Test but was passed fit to play, will return home with Test specialists Ashwell Prince, Paul Harris and Ryan McLaren.

The finger is expected to take up to two weeks to heal, and Smith will be assessed by Cricket South Africa's medical staff.


Joining the remaining Test players in the squad for the ODIs will be batsmen Loots Bosman and Herschelle Gibbs, paceman Charl Langeveldt, all-rounder Albie Morkel and left-arm spinner Roelof van der Merwe.

Meanwhile, the Proteas are confident that wicketkeeper Mark Boucher, who missed the Kolkata Test with back problems, will be fit for Sunday's first ODI - where he should reclaim the wicketkeeping gloves from AB de Villiers.

India have recalled all-rounders Yusuf Pathan and Abhishek Nayar and seamer Praveen Kumar for the first two ODIs, while also calling uncapped off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, 23, into the squad.

Zaheer Khan, who did not take the field on the fifth day in Kolkata because of a muscle strain in his leg, has been replaced in the squad by fellow pace bowler Sreesanth.

India ODI squad: Mahendra Dhoni (capt & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik, Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Amit Mishra, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Yusuf Pathan, Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag, Sreesanth, Sachin Tendulkar, Sudeep Tyagi.

South Africa ODI squad: Jacques Kallis (capt), Hashim Amla, Loots Bosman, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher (wk), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Charl Langeveldt, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Roelof van der Merwe.

Print Sponsor

see also
India win to level series with SA
18 Feb 10 |  Cricket
Players worried over IPL security
18 Feb 10 |  Cricket
In pictures: India v South Africa
18 Feb 10 |  Cricket
South Africa complete India rout
09 Feb 10 |  Cricket
India without Dravid and Yuvraj
28 Jan 10 |  India
South Africa in India 2010
24 Feb 10 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.