BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:13 GMT, Wednesday, 14 October 2009 13:13 UK

Mumbai lands 2011 World Cup final

The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, pictured in 2001
The Wankhede Stadium, pictured in 2001, is being renovated for the Cup

Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium will stage the final of the 2011 Cricket World Cup, which is being co-hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The Indian board has announced the eight venues for the 29 matches it is hosting - including Mohali, which will stage one of the semi-finals.

Eden Gardens in Kolkata, which has not hosted a one-day international since 2007, will stage four games.

The other venues are Ahmedabad, New Delhi, Chennai, Bangalore and Nagpur.

Sri Lanka will host 12 games, while Bangladesh will stage eight matches, as well as the opening ceremony in Dhaka on 18 February.


Original co-hosts Pakistan were stripped of their scheduled games by the International Cricket Council earlier this year because of security problems in the country.

The full schedule for the tournament is due to be announced in Mumbai on 9 November, while the two groups of seven teams were recently announced in a revised format following criticism of the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies.

Teams will play everyone in their group once, with the top four teams in each group qualifying for the quarter-finals - making a total of 49 games.


Group A: Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada, Kenya

Group B: India, South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands

Group stage venues: Ahmedabad (2 games), Bangalore (4), Chennai (4), Kolkata (4), Mohali (2), Mumbai (2), Nagpur (4), New Delhi (4), plus venues TBA in Bangladesh (6) and Sri Lanka (10)

Quarter-finals: Ahmedabad plus venue TBA in Bangladesh (2) and Sri Lanka

Semi-finals: Mohali plus venues TBA in Sri Lanka

Final: Mumbai

Print Sponsor

see also
England discover World Cup fate
07 Oct 09 |  Cricket
Pakistan's World Cup games moved
28 Apr 09 |  Pakistan
Pakistan counts cost of Cup shift
18 Apr 09 |  Pakistan
Final World Cup positions secured
17 Apr 09 |  Cricket
India lands 2011 World Cup final
08 Jul 06 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.