BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 19:26 GMT, Monday, 21 September 2009 20:26 UK

1998 & 2000: The ICC Knock Out Trophy

South Africa captain Hansie Cronje (left) lifts the ICC Knock Out Trophy in 1998; Adam Parore and Chris Cairns celebrate New Zealand's win in 2000

In 1998, Bangladesh were still two years away from being granted Test status - but were chosen as hosts for the first ICC Knock Out Trophy, competed for by the nine Test nations.

Eight games were played in a straight knock-out format - with Zimbabwe and New Zealand playing off to join the other seven teams in the quarter-finals.

South Africa, led by Hansie Cronje, beat West Indies by four wickets in the final.

The 2000 tournament featured the nine Test nations, plus soon-to-be-admitted Bangladesh and hosts Kenya. Three teams were eliminated in play-offs before the quarter-finals.

In the final, Sourav Ganguly (117) and Sachin Tendulkar (69) put India in charge, but Chris Cairns' unbeaten 102 saw New Zealand home with two balls to spare to claim their first major ICC tournament win.

see also
ICC Champions Trophy 2009
05 Oct 09 |  Cricket
Champions Trophy team guide
20 Sep 09 |  Cricket

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites