BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:10 GMT, Tuesday, 11 August 2009 17:10 UK

IPL reveals 2010 schedule changes

Deccan Chargers players celebrate winning the 2009 IPL
Deccan Chargers beat Bangalore in the 2009 IPL final

Next year's Indian Premier League will start a month earlier than the 2009 programme, organisers have announced.

The eight-team Twenty20 competition will start on 12 March and staged over 45 days, with one match being added to the schedule, a third place play-off.

It was revealed the competition will expand to 10 teams for 2011, when a fresh player auction will take place.

Each team will be allowed a maximum of 10 foreign players, and can field four of them at a time.

Any overseas player involved in the competition will have to obtain a no objection certificate (NOC) from their home board to participate in the IPL.


"This means that players will have to respect their country's commitments under the International Cricket Council's future tours programme," said League commissioner Lalit Modi.

"The IPL respect the sanctity of the FTP (Future Tours Programme) - and players, both current and retired, would have to obtain NOCs for two years in order to close the loop of players refusing to sign contracts with the boards."

Players from the unauthorised Indian Cricket League, who have returned to mainstream cricket under the amnesty scheme, will be allowed to play to play in the IPL, subject to approval of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, which is expected next week.

The transfer window will be open from 15 December to 5 January, and four teams - the Mumbai Indians, Deccan Chargers, Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab - have chosen to play home games at a different venue in addition to their usual home base.

The 2009 IPL tournament was played in South Africa, for security reasons, and Modi said they would be using the services of the International Cricket Council's anti-corruption and security unit to ensure the smooth running of the event.

Print Sponsor

see also
India grant amnesty to ICL rebels
02 Jun 09 |  Cricket
Deccan beat Bangalore to win IPL
24 May 09 |  Cricket
IPL confirms South Africa switch
24 Mar 09 |  Cricket
Back to the drawing board for IPL
23 Mar 09 |  South Asia
Indians saddened by IPL decision
22 Mar 09 |  South Asia
Sad day for Indian cricket
22 Mar 09 |  South Asia
IPL will be staged outside India
22 Mar 09 |  Cricket
Revised IPL fixture list rejected
16 Mar 09 |  Cricket
IPL chief plays down safety fears
10 Mar 09 |  Cricket
IPL will go ahead, declares Modi
06 Mar 09 |  Cricket
English stars to take IPL advice
04 Mar 09 |  Cricket
India calls for IPL cricket delay
03 Mar 09 |  South Asia
Gunmen shoot Sri Lanka cricketers
03 Mar 09 |  South Asia
England duo set for IPL showdown
25 Feb 09 |  England
Mumbai rocked by deadly attacks
27 Nov 08 |  South Asia
How will the IPL change cricket?
17 Apr 08 |  Cricket
ICC will not back Indian league
28 Aug 07 |  India
Rebel league 'to hit Indian cricket'
21 Aug 07 |  South Asia

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.