BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:30 GMT, Tuesday, 26 May 2009 12:30 UK

Bahrain win Division Seven final

Bahrain with the Division Seven Trophy
Bahrain beat Guernsey by three wickets to win the final

Bahrain defeated Guernsey by three wickets in the final of the ICC World Cricket League Division Seven tournament at the KGV on Sunday.

A five-wicket haul by Qamer Saeed helped restrict Guernsey to 204-9 in 50 overs, Ben Ferbrache top-scored on 51.

Gary Rich took three quick wickets but it was not enough to stop Bahrain as they reached their total in 46.1 overs.

Captain Yaser Sadeq said: "It's an amazing result especially after winning the whole week, finishing top."

Guernsey won the toss and chose to bat but lost both openers, Lee Savident and Matt Oliver, relatively early.

Guernsey looked to Jeremy Frith and Stuart Le Prevost, who have both been in outstanding form all week, to rebuild the innings.

But after a stand of 34, Le Prevost and Frith fell in the space of eight balls, to reduce Guernsey to 78-4, which quickly became 81-5 when Ross Kneller fell three balls later.

Ben Ferbrache led Guernsey's recovery with an excellent 51 and received good support from Kris Moherndl which helped Guernsey to a total of 204-9.

Bahrain made a quickfire start which saw them reach 87-1 in the 17th over.

Gary Rich took three quick wickets to bring some tension to the match and keep the crowd interested, but Saeed (55 no) allowed Bahrain to finish the tournament unbeaten.

Guernsey captain Stuart Le Prevost said: "It was a close game, I thought we did well to get past 200 and we just couldn't quite nip out the late wickets."

Print Sponsor